Melissa & Kim

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/08/2019 - 29/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, we are Kim and Melissa, two friends from near Frankfurt in Germany.

    We have just finished school and wish to do a gap year in Canada. The idea of working abroad sparks a great interest in us both and we can´t wait to get started!
    Due to several trips with our school and families to different countries, we have got to love the whole experience of meeting new people, exploring different cultures, learning new skills and overall just having a good time.
    We both enjoy playing the piano, working with people, are keen animal lovers, very outgoing, adventurous, happy and eager to learn new things.
    Languages play a huge role in our lives and together we can speak English, German, French and Spanish.
    I (Melissa) enjoy doing loads of sports including jogging, some riding, at home workouts and most importantly Judo, which I have been doing for 11 years.
    Kim and I are willing to do various types of work and are happy to help wherever and whenever we can and are also looking forward to learning new things along the way.

    Waiting for our new adventure!!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Melissa:
    During my school time I tutored several children in English. In general I do a lot with younger people (Age 3-17) in Judo. I have been doing Judo myself for around 11 years and am an assistant trainer since 2017. In the past few years I have also been doing some babysitting in my neighbourhood
    For the past couple of months I have been working in a Restaurant/ Bar and enjoy working with people a lot.
    My mother is from Scotland and my dad from Germany, so I grew up bilingually. In school I learnt French and a bit of Italian. My aunt is a vet, hence whenever I visit her and my cousin I help with walking dogs and feeding the animals.

    Kim:
    As well as Melissa I am always looking forward to meeting new people and interacting with kids.
    Apart from attending school and enjoying free time activities such as skateboarding, playing the piano and meeting up with friends, I have been working in the gastronomy working field for quite a while (two and a half years by now).
    In school my main classes were English and Spanish. I am fluent in both languages but would love to improve my vocabulary and my communication skills!
    At home I take care of our gardening and due to my grandparent´s health issues I also spend a lot of time at their house, taking care of their pets, gardening and other tasks at home.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, French, Spanish

  • Age

    19 & 18

  • What else ...

    Kim and I both enjoy shooting and editing short films

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback