Melanie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2019 - 31/12/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    After hearing about Workaway from fellow backpackers I thought it sounded like a great way to make the most of my travels! The experiences I've had so far have been so enriching... getting to know the people and their places is just the best.
    I love to learn about anything and everything. I work hard, but I am a relaxed person, friends often tell me I am a calming presence and have logical ideas. I take each day as it comes.
    At my happiest spending time in nature, exploring new places and getting to know new people (and animals!)

    I left the UK in November 2019 so have been finding my way for a while now.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Qualified early primary school teacher and TEFL teacher. Lots of experience working with young children and babysitting. Passionate about play, child development and the joy of childhood.
    Practical, open attitude towards new challenges.
    I have experience painting and decorating, sanding and varnishing floors, upcycling furniture. Laying floors and various small scale projects! Keen to give new tasks a try.
    I like to write and have worked for a PR company creating copy content for advertising and social media.
    I've also worked as a secretary booking appointments for clients and doing administration and managing online systems. I've previously volunteered in hostels and worked in hospitality too.
    Animal lover with loads of pet sitting experience.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Love music, I play ultimate frisbee sometimes, I enjoy cooking and creating!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Certain intolerances I can't handle too much of... onions, wheat, beans/legumes. Happy to eat simply!

Photos

Feedback