Meg

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/05/2020 - 20/09/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    577

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    ** I am looking to visit Central America for 2-3 months, starting in May 2020 **

    Hi! My name is Meg Watts and I am a 20 year old vegetarian student and native English speaker living in the UK.
    I'm currently studying a BA in Literature and Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia in Norwich.

    My dream is to travel the world and immerse myself in as many cultures as possible. I love languages and would love to be multilingual, and for that I really need to work and live abroad... workaway has proven to be a great opportunity for me as it means I can gain lots of skills and experiences, and meet lots of amazing, like-minded people!

    When I'm not at uni, I live in a small rural town in the south west of England with my mother (Sarah, a teacher and workaway host), my father (Darrel, a botanist) and my brother (Tom, 17) as well as our cat Minnie and an ongoing flow of workawayers,.

    I am a very open person - family and friendship are both very important to me, so I hope I can become good friends with whoever I meet on my travels. I am really good with children and toddlers, however I don't have a lot of 'hands on' experience with babies- I've got to start somewhere :)

    One of the things I love most is creating, whether that's sewing, baking, cooking, art, or building projects. I also love languages, music, writing, Yoga, swimming, reading, hiking and being outdoors.

    I'm eager to learn new skills, especially practical ones.

    I'm also interested in eco projects and sustainable living, particularly in terms of efficient design and limiting waste. I am very aware of environmental issues and would one day like to build my own sustainable home.

    I often help my parents on their allotment (vegetable garden) and with cooking and tidying around the home, as well as with decorating and painting. I love artistic projects and would be happy to create something beautiful for a workaway host, if they would like me to.

    I have 6 years of experience working as a waitress and bartender, alongside 2 years of retail experience and 2 years of housekeeping, so I have a lot of experience with getting rooms ready for guests, waitressing and talking with tourists.

    I love learning languages and have grown up travelling northern Europe and Scandinavia via houseswap holidays with my family- I would really like to become fluent in many languages, particularly German, as I would eventually like to relocate to Europe and build my own multilingual household.

    I would love to learn the skills necessary for me to become *️️️very*️️️ self sufficient, so anyone willing to teach me DIY skills, building and other crafts would be fantastic!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    During my gap year (2018-2019) I worked full time as head waitress and a bartender in a craft ale pub and restaurant - I am therefore very comfortable with the workings of both bar and Front of house work.

    I am also a freelance photographer and contribute/ run the social medias for various uk based environmental groups. This includes everything from documenting actions to creating graphics to focusing on media and messaging, communicating our environmental mission as effectively as possible.

    I write essays and articles (largely about the environment) for various publications as well, and have been publishing my travel writing, poetry and fiction for the past 4 years.

    For 2.5 years I worked at a local 5 star restaurant and hotel as a waitress and a member of the housekeeping team. I started in October 2014 (aged 14) and loved working there- so much so I was promoted twice! As such I am used to working with the public (waitressing) and used to working in high pressure situations (restaurant kitchens).

    Having been a member of a housekeeping team means that I have experience in general cleaning and housekeeping in hotel bedrooms and bathrooms, and would be happy to help around the house or a guest house /hotel and keep it clean and tidy.

    I have worked various retail jobs (as a bookseller and in a health food shop) and am therefore quite knowledgeable about both of these areas.

    I have also completed work experience at a local arts centre, designing posters and leaflets for Festivals, helping at Workshops, hanging exhibitions and doing clerical work, as well as volunteering at children's art workshops for the past 5 years.
    Over the summer of 2015 I helped run an art school for young children at my local arts centre, which was a fantastic experience- I also led a series of cake decorating sessions for young children, which was lots of fun and rather messy!

    I spent 6 weeks as a workaway volunteer in Germany during the Summer of 2016, in which I decorated, baked, cleaned, cooked, gardened, looked after farm animals and au-paired for a wonderful three year old girl! It was a wonderful experiences and I'd love to recreate it.

    I spent a month volunteering in Germany in the summer of 2017, which involved painting murals, decorating, wall-plastering and caring for livestock. This experience involved learning a lot of new skills, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

    I also returned to the same workaway in 2018 for another 2 weeks, largely painting murals and constructing fences. Surprise surprise, I will be going back this year as well!

  • Languages spoken

    fluent English, intermediate German

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (no fish, egg only in baked products if possible eg. Bread, cakes, quiche)

Photos

A door mural I created for my host family's little girl, summer 2016.
reproducing hokusai's wave (2017)
Hanging out with my 2 youngest cousins, Christmas 2016
A photography project on sustainable fashion I am working on for @globalclimatejustice and the XR 52 Fast Fashion Boycott
Taking photos at a gig I organised for Greenpeace, October 2019

Feedback