Megan & Pauline

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2018 - 25/04/2018


  • Description

    Hi there,
    our names are Megan and Pauline, we are two friends travelling together and we will be in the north of England as well as Scotland approximately from the 15th of January to the 25th of April 2018. We are both 19 years old, just finished our A-Levels in July and live in the north of Germany (close to Hamburg). At the moment we are both part-time working and will be attending university in fall. In order for you to get to know each one of us better, we both wrote something about ourselves separately.
    Megan:
    I'm turning 20 in March and I am still living with my parents, my older brother and my dog (he's an Australian shepherd, so I do know how to handle very active dogs). I did quite a bit of travelling already (Italy, Canada, Denmark, Czech Republic, Spain, Netherlands) and have still lots of places on my bucket list. I'm very positive, enthusiastic (one can easily excite me for almost anything) and open-minded, as well as hard working and very very creative (I’m almost always working on some diy project). I’ve also got quite a few organization skills, that is the reason I was the main editor and organizer of our school paper. The past three years I've been working at my local farmers market, so I've got quite a few people skills and a lot of knowledge about fruit and vegetables (btw, I am a vegetarian, though I will try and adapt to my host as much as possible). Next year in October I am planning on going to university to study event management, though I might switch to drama school later on. To become an actress has always been a dream of mine, therefore I took part in multiple plays and I'm still very ambitious to make this dream come true. Concerning my language skills, my English is fluent and I've got basic knowledge of French as well. Also, I just started learning Korean, though I'm hardly able to speak more than 3 sentences at the moment.
    Pauline:
    I’m also still living at home with my mom; my three older siblings are already grown up and are living by themselves. Travelling has always been a passion of mine and according to that I have done a trip through Europe (France, Netherlands, Spain) and visited lots of other countries (Greece, Sweden, Denmark, Czech Republic, Croatia, Egypt, Switzerland) though there are still a lot of places I’d like to see. I’m very interested in sign language, dance, diy projects and social work. I also have gathered practical experience at a primary school at Hamburg and at a school for deaf students. I've also been a carer for children around the age of 13/14 for church projects multiple times and did an advanced training for that. In fall I will be studying social science at university. At the moment I am working at the local hardware store, but I also have worked for an agency that set me up with work at events such as waitress and kitchen help. As for language skills my English is not fluent, but I am able to communicate very well and understand most things and I’m also really willing to learn.
    Why do we want to visit England/Scotland?
    In Germany it’s very common to take a year off after school and to work or travel. A lot of our friends have gone to Australia, New Zealand and the US, though we realized that you don’t need to go that far from home to see beautiful places. We decided that England is the country we want to see most at the moment, because:
    1. We can speak the language
    2. We have seen pictures and we want to see those landscapes with our own eyes
    3. We are really interested in the culture, the way you live
    4. And we really need to get out of here for a while to shuffle our surroundings and have some fun.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    childcare, caring for animals, gardening, cleaning, housekeeping, cooking, decorating, organizing, painting, all kinds of work in hotels/ restaurants

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, some french, learning Korean and chinese

  • Age

    21 & 21

  • Nationality

    german

  • What else ...

    (Megan) I am a vegan, but I would try to adapt to my host as much as possible.
    (Pauline) I am working hard to become a vegetarian. I'll try to adapt as much as possible as well.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan and Vegetarian

Photos

Megan with some friends in Canada.
Megan
Pauline
Pauline in Ireland
Megan in Italy
Pauline in England

Feedback