Megan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/03/2019 - 17/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    436

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I finished my degree in International Relations just over a year ago and currently am taking time to write prolifically and discover the world. I am a big adventurer, a hard worker and I am up for any challenge! I believe that treating yourself well makes you the best version of yourself to help other people.

    I have travelled extensively around South East Asia, Australia, Central America and Colombia and I am enthusiast for learning any or all new things! Most recently I have returned to Scotland after travelling for 9 months in Central America and Colombia learning Spanish, hitchhiking and helping out at workaways. On my return I realised that there are so many incredible places, and worthwhile projects here that I know so little about. So now I am spending the next six months rediscovering my own country, learning more about the different regions and cultures here and sharing the love for our spectacular landscape.

    On a personal note I am also hoping to find some space to pursue a couple of creative writing projects that have been in the pipeline for a couple of years!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I love talking to people and pride myself in being as friendly, welcoming and open to different points of view.
    Previously through workaway I have helped out as an adventure tour guide; working at a crofting animal farm in scotland; in a hostel and a number of permaculture/sustainability based projects.
    I love writing and often write creatively as well as writing in my diary and some non-fiction things on the side. I have a blog that is in its infancy that I would love to develop a bit to include some travel things.
    I have taken part in extensive voluntary work helping to organise lots of different events across the UK as well as more hands on volunteering like helping at Riding for the Disabled and teaching at a Summer School for children in Romania.
    I especially enjoy trekking and especially hillwalking and have 'bagged' many Munros in my home country, Scotland (although there are many more to bag!) as well as hiking in Vietnam, Indonesia, Guatemala and Tanzania.
    I have been around animals for most of my life. I have horse ridden since I was a kid and I have two dogs at home in the UK - an Irish Wolfhound and a Labrador.
    I am passionate about cooking and often make food that is inspired by dishes I have eaten all around the world, I would love to learn some more!

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent in English, Learning Spanish

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • What else ...

    I have a lifetime goal of reading a book from every country in the world so if you have a favourite book written by an author from your country please let me know! An extra challenge for me would to read it in Spanish!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian

Photos

Feedback