Megan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/01/2019 - 21/11/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    **MAY 2020 UPDATE**
    Kia ora! I have been in New Zealand for a little over a year now on a WHV to experience the "Kiwi" lifestyle, meet new people and simply enjoy this beautiful country. I have spent my time travelling, camping, hiking, working in hospitality, staying with families through workaway, housesitting and generally having the best time. I am now looking for my next big adventure once we drop down to level 2 so please don't hesitate to get in contact if you feel I could fit into your family.
    -----------

    Confident, outgoing person looking to offer an extra pair of hands around the house, garden, etc. Before travelling, I finished university and worked for 18 months in the UK, in order to gain some experience in my chosen field (Biology) and to earn some money to allow me to travel. I am the eldest of four children so I have grown up in a busy (and chaotic) household. My family are all outdoorsy and big animal lovers (with probably too many pets). I also love to ride and have ridden on and off throughout my life as my mother is horsey so I would love the chance to spend some time around horses (and any other animals that you have). I am also used to being around children so any babysitting/nanny work would be ideal as well gaining a host of new skills. I love food and would love to learn more about cooking, as well as more about gardening, sustainability and self sufficiency.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    - Childcare - I have grown up helping to care for my younger siblings (age gap of 13 year between my youngest sister and I), babysitting for family friends and working as a childminder's assistant in my college holidays. Although I do not have any formal childcare qualifications. Plus, plenty of experience gained whilst in NZ!

    - Equine care - yard duties, mucking out, grooming, feeding, etc. I have volunteered at local stables at home as a teen, provided holiday livery cover for friends, loaned ponies growing up and my mum has always had horses.

    - Animal Care - I have grown up surrounded by dogs, cats, rabbits, chickens, etc and I am very comfortable around most animals.

    - House sitting - I have looked after a few properties since being in NZ. This has been from a few days to a couple weeks, and included looking after cats, dogs and horses.

    (I also have my own car, and can drive both manual and automatic)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      NO allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      NO special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback