Mechteld

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Netherlands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2018 - 31/07/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi, My name is Mechteld and I'd like to use this space to tell you a little bit about myself and about the reasons I am on this platform. After living in Spain for four years, running a small ecologically concious hotel in Valencia, in 2018 my partner and I have decided to move to the Netherlands.
    I took a job as a secondary school teacher and Bulent has started his own business in AI, doing projects related to climate change.

    Although we like city life, our hearts are always aching for the peace and quiet of nature. For a while we have been discussing changing our lifestyle and eventually moving to a more rural area one day.
    By volunteering we are exploring the possibilities for doing this and eventually learn the skills we'd need.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Dancing
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    History
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    At the moment I would be most happy spending a lot of time being outside: taking care of animals or working in a garden. I enjoy all different types of weather and don't mind working hard.

    Apart from the above I can contribute in several ways: developing tourism-related projects, language exchange, I speak Dutch, English and Spanish (the latter needs some bruhing up...), I also have eperience cooking for small or larger companies of people (vegetarian or fish).
    I have some experience with horses from a WWOOF experience in England, a workaway in Spain and from attending riding schools in the Netherlands and Spain. I am very keen on learning all there is to know about taking care of them. At the moment I am taking classes at a small school in my town where they teach the principles of natural horsemanship.
    The other thing I am hoping to learn during my travels is the art of growing crops. So if you are willing to share your knowledge, I would like to make myself useful in your veggie garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Turkish: Beginner

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    About my background and hobby's:
    Before moving to Spain I studied photography for a few years and later graduated in sign language teaching and linguistics. I love learning and studying new subjects, and I try to find time to do that. During the lockdowns I started studying the history of classical music and playing the cello. Other things I like to do or talk about: education, languages, hiking, yoga, cinema, reading novels, sailing, the Dutch islands, horse riding, running and swimming in very cold water.

    My partner Bulent is from Turkey (Kurdisch). He works from home as a computer scientist and is involved in several projects. He is warm, caring and has little lights in his eyes :)
    He enjoys hiking, politics, cycling, reading, blues dancing. He grew up on a farm, and has a natural understanding with animals; he's the best cat whisperer in the West ;)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback