Marian

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Czech Republic, Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/05/2019 - 06/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    117

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am a very youthful 40 something who enjoys life to the full, seeing every challenge as an opportunity and meeting it face on.
    My work life has been varied and interesting giving me many and wide ranging skills and knowledge. This has taught me to be adaptable and fit in with others
    I currently volunteer with Royal Air Force Air Cadets and the Scouting Association. Within these groups I work with children and young people from the age of six up to 20. My roles include everything from arranging a monthly programme to organising trips to running activities and much more in between. Through these organisations I have attained, amongst other things, a first aid qualification, completed a health and safety course and obtained an enhanced DBS check.
    I am an extremely active person, regularly completing walks of up to 50km in a day. I run regularly, have learnt to snowboard and ski and am a qualified open water diver.
    I have always enjoyed travelling and seeing the world. My children are now grown and no longer live with me so now is my chance to have experiences to remember for the rest of my life.
    My other interests include gardening, playing the violin and needlecraft.
    In 2018 I spent 6 months in Italy through workaway. I learnt so much about the cuisine and culture that I am hoping that in 2019 I will be able to combine the travel and learning about culture and cuisine with my walking hobby. I hope to participate in at least 8 walks in 8 different countries. Most of these walks are over the weekend so I will be looking for workaway experiences that will not require me to work on a weekend.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a wide and varied range of skills and have worked in many industries from a brewery to healthcare.
    In my spare time I am involved with a couple of youth organisations in which I plan programmes, instruct young people, am responsible for health and safety, organising and supervising activity weekends and fundraising.
    I enjoy walking and travel to different countries to participate in organised long distance walks. I am also on a committee that organises an annual walk which sees approximately 1300 participants from different countries.
    I also enjoy gardening and have created beds and borders both flower and vegetables and have laid lawns. During my 6 months of workaway in Italy I have learnt much more about gardening, collecting fruit and drying fruit and herbs.
    I have also completed basic DIY projects in my home.
    I enjoy learning new skills and am quick to pick them up. I recently learnt to ski and am currently learning to speak Italian.
    I am very self motivated and can work individually or as part of a team. I am not shy of hard work and enjoy challenges.
    During my workaway experience in Slovakia I have been mainly working in restaurants running tables and as a kitchen porter although I have also carried out hotel housekeeping duties.
    My skills include;
    -Good communication
    -Listening
    -Organising
    -Computing,
    -Instructing
    -Leading
    -Administration
    -Fundraising
    -Working with Animals
    -Working with children
    -Housekeeping
    -Music
    -Driving
    -Cooking
    -Basic DIY
    -Camping
    -Hiking

  • Languages spoken

    English, Welsh, learning Italian

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback