Maya & Mike

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/09/2019 - 30/04/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a couple from Victoria, British Columbia in Canada. We have been living and working here together and are getting ready for our second trip together abroad. Michael is a chef and I (Maya) have a degree in art history and work in a gallery and as a ceramic artist. Mike is travelling to Japan for the third time, however it will be my first time. We both are very passionate about food, travel, photography and writing and would like to practice and and expand our knowledge through our travels in Japan. We both really enjoy the outdoors, reading, meeting new people and learning new things from those we meet throughout all cycles of life. We like being pushed outside our comfort zone and enjoy exploring new countries and cultures.
    Upon our extended travels through Asia we plan to immerse ourselves in local culture and cuisine and collaborate on a photography/cookbook, telling the stories of those we meet along the way.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We are both hardworking, quick learners with creative minds. Mike is a very talented cook, having worked in kitchens for 15 years. Mike is handy and enjoys building things around the house and has a knack for plants and gardening. Maya has a background in arts and is good at photography, pottery, website building, computer work and has previous experience working abroad at guesthouses in Spain and Portugal.
    We are both trustworthy, easygoing and friendly people who are eager to learn and help wherever needed. We work very well together and make a great team!

  • Languages spoken

    Mike - English, Beginner Japanese, Maya - English, French

  • Age

    25 & 30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      We happily eat everything and love trying new things

Photos

Our home :)
Camping trip
My pottery

Feedback