Matthew

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/07/2020 - 30/11/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling


    Hiking, cycling, swimming and of course sailing are my main passions

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Matthew from the UK.
    For the last year I’ve been sailing my boat from the UK and have found myself in lockdown in Cartagena Spain. A lively place which I’ve come to love. Due to being here unexpectedly for so long and of course with lockdown and many things changing I have decided to sell the boat and explore life on land a little now. I’ve spent my lockdown time doing mostly boat jobs & upgrades as well as taking the time to reacquaint myself with my guitar at which I lose hours out of my days. I still consider myself to be a beginner but enjoy the process of improving.
    With sailing as my main passion, I love nature, it’s often the little things that make big impressions on me, birds flying by, dolphins, simply becoming more aware of the earth spinning as I sail throughout the night to be blessed with the sunrise the following day.
    I’m very useful at doing unfamiliar jobs, a quick learner and perhaps a little bit of a perfectionist with the tasks I turn my hand to.
    I’m afraid that my languages are very limited with English being my home language but enjoy learning should anyone be prepared to spend the time with me.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Back in normal life at home I’m a software specialist for business management/accountancy etc. I’m generally good at most things IT including websites. Outside of that, I’m hands on, which is essential when living in a boat, especially when it comes to electrics, plumbing, woodwork and of course fiberglassing. My most recent boat job was replacing all of the toilet plumbing which was a lovely(?!) experience, but it needed doing and I don’t often like paying professionals if I can avoid it.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    43

  • What else ...

    I guess one ambition of mine is to write and record my own songs, I often try making notes of lyrics when they come to me or ideas. So maybe one day 😊.
    Needless to say I love the water, simply being near it, or on/in it. I’m a huge animal lover my favourite being dogs, but they all (well, most) bring enjoyment to me, and hopefully me to them.
    I lived in Denmark for a brief time when I was younger, it holds a special place in my heart. I worked at a bar, and then at a civil engineering company doing lots of general maintenance work such as gardening and heavier labour moving rocks around. It was fun integrating.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback