Matt & Malia

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling


    Currently based in Christchurch. Interested in sustainability, community, food, laughter, music and all those other good things :)

  • Description

    Kia Ora!

    We are two travelers driven by sustainability and reciprocity, and are very interested in using our skills (and learning new ones) to give back to the land and community. I (Malia) am from Kailua-Kona, Hawai'i, and Matt is from San Diego, California.

    Before coming to New Zealand in November 2019, we were working as Naturalists and Outdoor Guides in Juneau, Alaska. Though we miss the bears and salmon, we're very happy to be in New Zealand!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Videography
    Photography
    Technology
    Astronomy

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Since joining the world of work exchange, we have helped maintain trails and native bush, including weeding, digging and planting. We've worked with power tools building a chicken coop and a weed compost. Matt has worked professionally in landscaping and is confident in his abilities with yard maintenance and machinery, and under his supervision we have completed various landscaping projects including building a rock wall.

    In addition to general work exchange we are experienced and trusted in house sitting and pet minding for dogs and cats. We are always happy to send references!

    We also have professional skills which adhere more to the social and tech sphere. I (Malia) have a professional background in marketing and communications and am comfortable in administrative and community manager roles. Matt is a junior web developer. We've done work exchange in community organization and events, and are adaptable to fill roles when needed!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    26 & 26

  • What else ...

    We are outdoor enthusiasts, sustainably driven, creative, musically inclined, open minded people. We love to play games and belly laugh and have jam sessions and make authentic connections with people!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback