• Italy
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


  • Description

    Hi everybody!

    My name is Mattia and I'm 30 years old.
    I come from a town in the North of Italy called Sondrio, in the middle of the mountains and not too far from the Swiss border.

    After a bit more than two years spent in Bergamo working in the field of solar energy, I've just decided to take a break from the "normal", conventional life and go back on the road for some time.

    Before starting the just mentioned full-time job in my home country, I spent quite a long time abroad. For instance, I attended a two-year-long European Master program in Renewable Energy, which allowed me to live for a year in Barcelona and another one in Stockholm.

    So far, I've been a "workawayer" nine times, four times in France, once in Spain, Portugal, The Netherlands, Germany and Italy.

    My first experience was in August 2012 in a village close to Montpellier, called Le Pouget. Then, during the summers of 2013, 2014 and 2015, I had a beautiful stay in Ticheville (Lower Normandy), in a vegetarian restaurant called La Maison du Vert. After that, I had two other great experiences in the south of Spain, in a little village called Los Guajares, and in Lisbon, where I worked in a hostel as a receptionist. A stable in the dutch countryside was instead the place where I worked and lived for around ten very nice days during my stay in the Netherlands. Sometime later, during the summer of 2017, I spent around two weeks in the South of Germany, giving a helping hand to a very nice local family. Finally, in 2018, I was again a receptionist in a hostel located in Milan, where, once more, I met many nice people (both fellow workawayers and travelers), but, at the same time, I got to know two among the greediest and least respectful people/hosts I've ever encountered (stay away from Koala and Panda Hostel if you'll ever go to Milan!).

    The more I live experiences like the ones I mentioned above, the more I realize how much I love doing Workaway: I indeed believe that it's one of the best ways to visit new places, make new friends from all over the world, learn lots of different things, improve the knowledge of foreign languages.. all at the same time.

    Talking for a very short bit about myself, If I could only use two words to describe my personality, I would say that I'm a sociable introvert. I enjoy spending time with people, getting to know what are their interests and passions, but, at the same time, I love (and need, too) spending time on my own, maybe while listening to some music or reading a book.

    See you on the road!

    NOTE: because of health reasons (mainly due to the many allergies I have) I'm not vaccinated for Covid-19. Needless to say, as any person with common sense, I carefully follow all the prevention measures necessary to minimize the risk of catching the virus, so you can rest assured!

  • Interests

    Yoga / Wellness
    Movies & TV
    Politics / Social justice
    Self development
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

  • More details about your skills

    I'm a serious and reliable person. During the previous workaway experiences I did various activities (basic masonry, waiting, kitchen help, painting, hostel reception, gardening, animal care), which helped me develop different skills.

    I also have a strong interest in foreign languages: I'm fluent in Italian, English and French, I have good knowledge of Spanish and a basic understanding (although improving day after day!) of German. I would love to put my language skills at the service of others and at the same time constantly improve them.

    Needless to say, I'm also open to trying new things and, in general, committed to learning as much as possible.

  • Age


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      1) medication: penicilline and NSAIDs: aspirin, ibuprofen (Moment, ..), ketoprofen (OKI, ..), arylacetics (Voltaren, ..); 2) cats hair

    • Special dietary requirements
      Trying to avoid both wheat and dairy-based food, and eat as little meat as possible