Jon-Matteo

From: Austria

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Iceland, Morocco, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, South Africa, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/06/2019 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi everyone!
    About me:
    I‘m 19 years old and I grew up in beautiful Austria. I graduated this year from high school and I took a gap year in order to develop my work experience abroad and the knowledge about other cultures. Afterwards my plan is to go to University and study law to promote the human rights one day because everybody may live with dignity, freedom, equality, justice and peace and I would like to stand up for these principles. I went to a school that focuses on competitive sports (Badminton). I pursued my passion and had the honour to practise in the Austrian Olympic Center with the best players from Austria and around the world. When it became commercial, everything changed and I steadily recognized that being a top athlete is combined with constant pressure to perform. This increased the competition among my teammates dramatically. I couldn´t identify myself with this lifestyle anymore. I skipped training over summer and worked in a Hotel in Greece as an Entertainer for kids and teenagers. That was exactly what I was looking for. Pure joy of life instead of pressure to perform. I could do activities again that I have neglected over the few years. As a child I was member of the Austrian Alpine Association and enjoyed climbing and hiking in the mountains. I had also a membership in a soccer and canoeing club and in school of music, theatre and arts, all resigned due to my commitment to Badminton at the age of 14. During this unique experience in Greece I not only changed my way of thinking but also developed myself in person: I learned to accept responsibility, have a confident stage presence and to organize and run miscellaneous activities. I believe that that traveling is the best way to get in touch with different cultures and interacting with the locals. Therefore it is the best education anyone could have. Volunteering vacation or working abroad contributes to the understanding of a culture and it enriches your travels while you make other people´s life better. Meaningful travel is about being aware of your footprint and doing what you can to help the places that you visit. The more you give back, the more you feel fulfilled. Now I know what life is about: live happy, wealth and recognition are only secondary. I am an adventurous, outgoing person and I love to be outside, looking for new challenges. One of my cuurent passions include photography, editing and video filming, white water rafting and mountaineering.
    + I recently worked in Canada as a Canoe Tripper, so I organized and led canoe trips through the Canadian Nature.
    Travel buddy:
    I‘d like to find a travel buddy because I think it would be fun to have a foreign friend to travel with.
    Fun Fact:
    My profile picture appeared in the newspaper.
    Fun Question:
    How fast do you think can a shuttlecock go? Ask me :)
    Aim in life:
    -Taking my oncles' sailing boat and sail around the world
    -ascend the highest mountains in the world (not Mount Everest)
    -white-water-kayaking trip through India
    -biking through Russia (just a part of Russia, lol)
    -expedition to the Antarctic
    -Supporting the human rights worldwide

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am happy to share my help in different areas, wherever I am needed. I can help whith various chores (cleaning, general maintanance etc.) or I can help with gardening as well. If interested I can teach German (I also speak a bit French) and I can cook some delicous meals (cook experience for larger groups due to my work experience as a canoe Tripper in Canada). I´m good in childcare and love to entertain kids or do sports with them. I also like to paint and work on creative projects (I attended 2 years a school that focuses on arts).I am an animal lover so I can help you with keeping animals if you have some. I am also very interested in photography and if you wish I can make some nice photos of you and your family. If you need help with marketing, I’m happy to share my knowledge about it (wrote a thesis about it).I think I live quite ecoconscious and would love to support and help any organisations which protect nature or animals. I would describe myself as helpful and a hard working person when the working atmosphere is good. I really look forwards to help you or your family in any projects.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, little bit French

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    I am eager to learn new things and hope to strenghten my knowledge in languages and culture plus gaining work experience abroad.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Me as a teens entertainer in Greece after dancing mini disco dressed as a pirate or the like :)
Last vacation with my family in Croatia. Snorkeling in the Mediterranean Sea and exploring a shipwreck was really increadible.
Me (on the right) as a sports entertainer in Greece with my kids :)
Vacances en France avec ma famille 🇫🇷
Hiking in the austrian Alps. 30 minutes from my home.
On the Eifel tower with my family.
Canoe Tripper in Canada

Feedback