Mathilde

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/01/2019 - 22/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My four grandparents were farmers (vegetables, grape, fruits and olive oil) in Provence -> Avignon. This trip is all about going back to my roots, and living the slow life in the countryside, while helping & learning. I am 29 and live in Nantes and I have always been passionnate about knowing, protecting and being amazed by nature.
    I try to minimize my own carbon footprint at home. This year I tried to grow as much of my own food as possible on a small terrasse and I loved it ! I grew tomatoes, beans, strawberries, radishes, peppers and spices with a little help from compost and companion planting. It was a tiny garden but made me really happy & fulfilled and wanting to learn more. 
    As a volunteer I am looking mainly at farms, learn as much as possible on sustainable agriculture, to do my best with helping, to meet nature-passionnate people and explore the surroundings.
    I decided to take a break from work after 6 years of working (NGO) behind my computer to travel a bit in Europe which I don't know enought (although I know India, USA and Australia), to take time for myself and to be able to act for a more sustainable future. This may sound very broad but in my mind it involves slowing down (quitting my job = getting out of the hamster's wheel), learning to be a bit more resilient in food, energy, construction, healthcare...
    This involves theorical knowledge (reading and of course learning from hosts) but also practical knowledge : being able to try out stuff. For me it is a constant exchange between both knowledges, keeping in mind the 'trial and error' philosophy. This is why 3 weeks is my minimum in each place.
    I've been travelling & volunteering for over 2 months now, and it's working perfectly. Learned a lot, from the good and the bad experiences, and I am super excited by what's coming next.
    My slow travel includes no plane, aiming at zero waste and trying to highlight sustainable travelling on my blog (in French) : https://www.myatlas.com/mathildebres/wwooftour2019
    I hope to meet you soon !

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Tough questions ! What I enjoy most is taking care of a garden, preferably with permaculture inputs. I enjoy cooking. I have an artistic feeling. I like drawing, writing, taking pictures ...

  • Languages spoken

    French, Spanish, English

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    I'm interested into DIY products (detergent, soap, creams...) so I could teach some of the stuff that I know if hosts are interested in getting rid of heavily-processed-chemical products for personal and house care.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer eating vegetarian for ethical and environmental reasons, but I don't mind if there is fish or meat, I will probably eat it too if it comes from local / sustainable resources

Photos

Weeding ... the alpha & omega of organic farming !
DIY plant signs
Beetroot & cauliflower seedings
Free time = yoga !
Ducks = fertilizer in the garden & slug eaters
Volunteering in farms helped me overcome my fear of horses
In real life, my backpack is slightly bigger

Feedback