Massimo

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan, South Korea, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/08/2019 - 02/02/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Ciao!

    My name is Massimo and I’m an Italian designer!
    I studied Maths in Milan and Design in Glasgow and I’ve been living in London (and travelling every time I could) ever since!
    My hometown is Bergamo, a very nice city not too far from Milan and very close to the alps and a few nice lakes!
    Bergamo and its surrounding really surprise me every time I’m back home with a new look whatever season I go!

    Growing up in Northern Italy, so close to many other countries, I’ve always loved to travel and discover places and people, to inspire and be inspired by whatever is interesting and enriching!
    My studies, which could look so different from each other, shaped my mind and my soul into a creative philosopher, a very precise and organised dreamer whose only goal is to feel richer and happier in a richer and happier world!
    I’m sure that the best way to reach my goal is to travel and to take on new experiences whole-heartedly and nonjudgmentally, to meet new people and to listen to their stories and tell them mine!

    I don’t remember a single day when I didn’t play a piano (yes, I can teach you how to play some Beethoven or Beyoncé) or I didn’t take a picture (yes, I can take a portrait of you and your parrot if you like!) and I can’t wait to be in Japan, Korea and Vietnam to take pictures of the tiny little beautiful details of reality there!

    I love to walk and hike, I travelled as far as I could on my little Vespa (how Italian)!
    I read a lot of books, I carry a book with me everywhere I go and I finally decided to put all my poems together and make them a book, we’ll see!

    I spent a few months in Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and Malaysia last year and there I started to realise that I wanted to push my limits further, I wanted to be a very open-minded European person discovering Japan, Korea and China!
    Once back to London I started to study Japanese and I immediately fell in love with a Japan and its astonishing culture!
    This is the reason why I decided to start working as a freelance designer in order to be able to explore the Country of the Rising Sun!
    I will be traveling alone, so meeting other volunteers would be a a very nice bonus for spending free time and sharing my experience with new friends with different backgrounds and trajectories!

    About my experience as a volunteer, I started volunteering in Italy, especially during my summer holidays, while at high school and I enjoyed it A LOT!
    I volunteered in a little marine reserve in Sicily where we cleaned miles of wonderful beaches in order to make the sea turtles feel safe and happy to come back and breed, but I also volunteered in an historical building in Milan, helping the people manage and organise visits and stays, events and media publications.

    I decided to participate in Workaway because I want to keep volunteering while discovering new countries and new cultures, helping people who help me and enjoying the local life as deep as I can!
    I am a very optimistic person, as well as very flexible and I can pretty much adapt to any given situation and try to make the best of it. I am able to learn new things quickly, and am always willing to try anything at least once (food included)!
    My Japanese teacher participated in the Workaway programme too while travelling around Japan and he told me that all the great people he met in the programme, hosts and other volunteers, made his time in the Kochi Prefecture the best he could ever ask for!

    Well, I can’t wait to be in Japan and live the best experience!

    Ciao!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I speak Italian and English and I’m studying Japanese.
    I’m good at taking care of children as I did it with my little sisters and all my pets.

    I can cook, do gardening and keep the house clean.
    In London I worked as a waiter first and then as a retail assistant and manager in Harrods so I think I know how to deal with customers and guests.

    I’m a practical person and I like to help in all the little challenges and get all the daily things done.
    I can fix a bike or paint a wall, cook spaghetti or plant some roses, and then eat spaghetti!

    I’ve been teaching maths, English and piano for years so I think I’m quite skilled in teaching too.
    As a designer, I know my way around a computer, on both hardware and software side, and I would be very happy to help with some design stuff too!

  • Languages spoken

    English and Italian native, I'm currently studying Japanese!

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Italian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Amoxicillin, an antibiotic.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope, I can't wait to taste every food!

Feedback