Maryse

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2020 - 23/12/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi !

    I'm a Belgian girl of 23 years old and now that I've got my university degree in International Relations in my pocket, I want to take an one-year off to travel even more around the world. Indeed, I had one Workaway experience in Spain five years ago that taught me that I can improve my language along with discover people and learn new skills ! This first experience was great and made me want to travel up to now (I did Honduras by myself, Chile in backpack, Portugal with friends, Spain by bike, etc).


    From October to the end of 2020, I've worked with people that live in Flanders (North of Belgium) in order to learn/ improve my Dutch, as my level is very basic. In my opinion, the best way to progress is the complete immersion ! As I'd like to get really involved in the project (whatever it is), I've stayed one month on each family that hosted me. I did that on purpose because I wanted to experience different lifestyles with different generations.

    I'm the youngest of a family of five. My friends would describe me as funny but very calm/soft in the same time. Personally, I would add that I'm an outgoing girl, open, motivated, eager to learn. I like reading, running, going out with my friends, inventing some ways to repair sthg/doing some day's projects, spending time outside,... I am a resourceful person who does a lot on my own. In fact, I have to learn to ask questions when I don't understand something/do not have the skills for a specific task, it's one of my flaws!

    I'd like to fill the free time of this year-off by learning about yoga, meditation, watercolor and drawing, non-violent communication, personal development (very interested by psychology !) and how to reduce my consumption of plastic (achieving a zero-waste goal would be great, but I'm far from it). I don't smoke and I don't eat a lot of meat (don't mind eat vegetarian at all). My dog passed away two years ago so I would really don't mind to take care of (any) animals during my time at your home. To spare some money, I was in charge to play with a group of 20 children during each summer so I'm really confortable with them, they make me laugh and I love the simple way they see life in general! Also, I was a scout leader during 3 years. To end this description, it will not be a problem to help you with the tasks in the house as I live with other students since two years in a flat. It will be done with pleasure !

    If you think I can suit to your research, please send me a message and I will gladly answer,


    Maryse

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    - Cooking (Belgian specialties)
    - Gardening
    - Playing guitar
    - Cycling
    - Swimming
    - Caring a horse
    - Caring a dog
    - scout leader
    - sportive girl
    - painting (restore a room)
    - being a barmaid during 4 years
    - Having my first-aid training (this is called "BEPS" for "Brevet Européen de Premier Secours" in French)
    - Having a certified degree in animation of children

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback