Martin & Bryony

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Netherlands, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/01/2019 - 01/11/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a married couple who have just finished a 7 month tour of South East Asia. We're looking for places we can learn viable skills and really make a difference to a project. Preferably long term stays but happy to work on shorter stays depending on the project.
    With a eye towards future employment, we are very open minded as to the type of work available. Learning new skills and challenging ourselves is all part of the adventure. We will bring passion, commitment and hard work with us.
    We have both worked in customer facing industries whilst in the UK.
    Bryony as a manager in a working mens club for two years and Martin as a manager for over a decade in multinational supermarket company.
    Martin is a self confessed nerd, science and sci-fi are my go to genres, loves reading, computer games and watching sport.
    Bryony enjoys learning about people and new cultures, amateur photographer, keen home cook who's always looking expand my skills and also loves to bake.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    General Labor and Maintenance: Gardening, farming, cleaning, building projects, cooking- we are both hard workers, willing to work on whatever task is needed to get the job done. Not afraid of a mop and bucket, more than willing to pitch in with the small tasks required to run a home.

    Tasks we've performed in our workaways.
    1st
    •Applying door fascia with silicone
    •Plastering in the kourasani method.
    •Digging a trench to lay pipes.
    •Weeding.
    •Thinning branches on trees.

    2nd
    •Chopping wood with an axe and buzz saw.
    •Stacking wood within various woodstores.
    •Creating a new wood store.
    •General cleaning of house after air Bnb guests.
    •Stripping, cleaning and re-applying bedding.
    •Digging trench to lay new wall.
    •General tidying, helping in the house.
    •English language practice.

    3rd.
    •Pruning trees.
    •Removing a large rock garden that had been laid straight into the soil.
    •Laying weed membrane and supporting rope.
    •Re-laying pebbles.

    4th.
    •Placing and planting several decorative plants around balconies.
    •Moving a hot tub.
    •Prepping pool area for lining
    •Moving the entire piece from point of delivery and partially constructing a sauna.
    •General cleaning/tidying/organising various work and home areas.

    5th
    General gardening
    •Woodchipping
    •Strimming
    •Chopping/stacking wood.

    6th.
    Lots of small jobs helping a family to move into a different area of the home including;
    •Contruction/deconstruction of several IKEA pieces of furniture.
    •Painting.
    •Moving and stacking boxes.
    Also,
    •Building a simple bestway pool.
    •Cleaning decking.
    •General gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    38 & 30

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Plastering in Greece.
Beach a 3 minute walk from our workaway in Greece.
Host family from Czech Republic.
Many hours passed playing this on rainy days.
We filled this wood store.
We made quite a difference.
A large part of our task in Czech Republic.
New wood store Martin helped to build.
Before
During
During the relaying of stones. Also pruned the trees
Finished

Feedback