Martin

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2021 - 31/12/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there!

    I'm from the UK originally and lived in California, USA for 20 years. I worked as a chemist and had my own small landscape business there. Last year I moved to Spain, graduated with my TEFL certificate, and taught English in Barcelona.

    I would love to help out on practical outdoors projects, such as building projects, garden design, Vegetarian/vegan cooking, bicycle maintenance.

    I've built patios, dry-stone walls, helped design and build a luxury chicken coup/Palace, built french drains, helped my friend re-build his house. Im knowledgeable about plants in general, and have done quite a lot of pruning, plant maintenance, and propagation.

    In short, i love to work with my hands and be creative. I think i have some of my grandfather's genes who built houses in Canada and UK in the 1920s

    I have volunteered with the WWOOF organization on Organic farms in Vancouver, Canada living with families with kids, and also here in Spain on several Organic small holdings. I have also helped build a labarynth in France.

    I'm very handy, practical, intelligent, sociable and fit in well with families with or without kids. I love animals, and especially dogs. I enjoy music, cycling, hiking, windsurfing, surfing, reading, music, guitar, live concerts, and of course language exchange.

    Thanks for your consideration, and looking forward to meeting you soon!

    Kind regards,

    Martin

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Landscape Gardening - Design and Installation
    Building
    Woodworking
    Irrigation systems
    Computer skills - PC troubleshooting, hardware
    Teaching windsurfing
    Vegetarian / Vegan Cooking
    Mechanic - cars, bikes, bicycles
    Laminate floor installation
    General Handyman skills - if it's broken, I'll fix it.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    57

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian please, thank you - Vegan the best! :)

Photos

Feedback