Martha

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/07/2019 - 30/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello,
    My name is Martha Clarke and I am from Eastbourne in the UK, born in London. I am a student studying Global Sustainable Development with Philosophy at the University of Warwick, so I am available for workaways this summer :).
    Hobbies:
    I write very often, mostly philosophical prose on the topics of metaphysics, ethics and identity, as well as poetry. Part of the reason I love taking workaways is to greater establish my own views and contradictions on these topics through experience! I also enjoy exploring my abilities in other creative mediums like drawing and painting :).
    I am very interested in a healthy lifestyle, I enjoy most forms of exercise (especially cycling and swimming), and have an interest in nutrition.
    I have been vegan for about four years now, and it was the best decision I have ever made :).
    I care a lot about animals and the planet, and in reflection of my university course I hope to go into a sustainable field of work in the future!
    In addition to physical health, I also love practices of self-cultivation, mostly through general mindfulness and basic yoga but also meditation, which I have been practicing very regularly for many years now and which has greatly shifted my life!
    I would say I am very curious, eager to learn and experience, and am very much a yes person! I am very adventurous, I love to climb and explore, and to seize the moment! I adore communal/ community living and meeting new people, learning about their backgrounds and passions, and live their way of living, this I think makes the experience of travelling truly beautiful :).
    My goal is to experience as many ways of living on this earth as I can, to gain a deeper understanding of humanity and our planet.

  • Type of help

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Altenpflege
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • What skills do you have?

    The skills that I have listed above are not ones that I necessarily have had much experience in, just things that I am happy to do :).
    I have volunteered at an animal shelter, a horse sanctuary, an environmental protection organisation and an animal farm stay (my last workaway). These experiences have given me a great understanding of responsibility. I have also taken part in more practical tasks, such as building fences and birdhouses, and I am quite strong :) .
    More recently I have worked as a waitress at a hotel, giving me experience with people and customer service, additionally I have owned my own online second-hand clothes shop on depop.
    At university I am active in many societies; I am the events manager of the climate reality project (an NGO focused on combatting global warming), and a volunteer for STAR, a student led organisation which runs English classes for refugees.
    I am also the course representative for the first year of my degree.
    I enjoy gardening, cooking, and I find cleaning very therapeutic. I love the feeling of being successful and productive after a long days work!
    I speak English, French, and some Spanish, and am currently working at an English teaching children’s camp in Cantabria (ending July 15th).
    I am healthy and positive with a lot of energy, creativity and self-discipline to pour into my work. I wish to pick up as many skills as possible and learn new ways of living and being together with nature and others!
    There are many things I want to do in the future, I would love to start my own NGO or business in which I distribute volunteers to grassroots projects such as building a school, or helping create societal change through writing policy briefings and political activism. I would also love to be able to teach yoga (I am taking a teacher training course this summer) cook in my own little cafe or teach children. I also hope to publish a novel or philosophical journal.
    Through my workaway experience, I am excited to help you with your project, appreciate the moment and meet new people, bringing the experiences and skills I have gained with you into the great unknown of the future!
    Thank you for taking the time to read my profile! :)

  • Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Age

    19

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback