Marleen

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2020 - 01/07/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi :) I'm Marleen, I'm from the Netherlands. I would like to live at the coast of Portugal, because of the beautiful, raw nature and the beaches for surfing. Therefore, I want to discover different places to see where I would like to settle.

    I enjoy outdoor activities and nature. I grew up in the countryside, so I know how to look after plants and animals.

    It would very interesting to gain experience in natural building techniques, sustainable permaculture & agriculture and off-grid living.

    I have no maximum time of stay in mind and would prefer to stay a longer period if possible.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    WorkAway is new for me, but I have abroad working experience. I worked as a cook at a family surf camp in France, for example. Cooking for groups of sixty people was a fun challenge! I love to cook vegetarian, vegan, sometimes fish (and meat if you want). I also have a background in hospitality work.

    I have been working as a producer for television and advertising (also abroad). Therefore I have good organizational skills, I'm practical and creative in ideas. It's hard work and I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty.

    My parents are renovating an old house in France from scratch and I have been helping them ever since. So, I'm also used to basic living conditions. I can help with renovations in and outside your house. Also painting & creative creations. I love to work in our fruit garden with 15 (!) different apple tree species.

    Furthermore, I hold a Bachelor's degree in Digital Media, so in social media, marketing, websites, content, photography etc. Always happy to help out.

    Lastly, I have babysitted a lot of children from age 0 to 12, you can leave them to me any time :)

    .........SO, cooking, hospitality, renovating, gardening, digital media. I'll be happy to share my skills with you!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    More recently, I finished a Yoga Teacher Training and followed a course in Ayurvedic Medicine.

    For surfing, I have traveled a lot along the shores of France, Spain, Portugal (from Vagos, to Amoreira, to Luz and a lot in between ;-)) I traveled by campervan or I was camping. For snowboarding, I have been to Austria and the French Alps. Oh, and I LOVE to play tennis. And I find horse riding magical too.

    Fun fact about me...
    When I was only 10 years old, I was a crew member of a sailing expedition initiated by an NGO for the Wadden Sea. I took off in Germany, but the expedition went to Esbjerg, Denmark. There the 9th climate conference took place and the crew handed over our manifestation to the ministers.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback