• United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


  • Description

    I am a 25-year-old avid traveller with a passion for writing, meeting new people and creating a better world in the process. Having visited 26 countries so far, I document a large number of my adventures on my blog, '' as well as sharing travel advice through writing travel articles for a number of magazines. Alongside working with companies via my Instagram, 'mariahanako_travels', I am also an avid horse-rider with over 14 years experience riding, as well as owning my own horse. I try to incorporate my love of travel alongside horse-riding at every opportunity I get. As a previous volunteer at a horse rescue shelter in my hometown of Leeds, England, I do regard horses as much of an importance in my life alongside travel.

  • Interests

    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Self development
    Events & social
    Fashion or beauty
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I am fluent in both English and Spanish, due to growing up in the United Kingdom to a Peruvian mother and German father, therefore, I would practise Spanish at home, and English at school. Unfortunately, my knowledge of the German language is very basic. Alongside speaking Spanish at home, I also studied the language as one of my A-levels, alongside English literature and history. After finishing with my Sixth Form education, I moved to Peru, where I studied Methodology for 5 months at the 'Britanico Institute' in San Borja, receiving my qualification as a TEFL teacher. With my TEFL teaching degree I have had the opportunity of providing personalised private classes, as well as volunteered to teach adults and children in Peru.

    I have incorporated my love of travel and writing in creating my own blog on 'WordPress', '', where I enjoy to share anecdotes about my adventures across the globe as well as sharing travel tips, and guidance to many destinations to inspire more people to visit places they may otherwise not have thought about; swaying away from popular tourist destinations. I have also had the pleasure of working as content creator, writing articles and providing videos for 'Sakura Expedition'; a tour agency in Cusco. Alongside having had articles featured in travel magazines; such as 'Storytellertravel' and written a number of articles for non-travel related magazines, including ''. I also share travel content on my Instagram 'mariahanako_travels', where I post travel photography and inspiration.

    Through Instagram, I have had the pleasure of working with companies to represent their brand, including fashion brands that promote a more ethical approach to fashion, such as my collaboration with 'beyondBeanie'. Alongside fashion companies, I am also an ambassador for 'The Nomads Direction' a travel company organising customised travel itineraries across the globe to suit a wide spectrum of requirements, and my most recent collaboration is with 'BYO' an application for those who love to travel.

    My love of travel is shared with my passion for horse-riding. Qualified as a horse-riding instructor by the ABRS (Association of British Riding Schools) as well as having volunteered in a horse rescue shelter, Hope Pastures, in Leeds, United Kingdom, has taught me a lot of discipline and determination. Especially when it comes to being an owner to my Irish Sport Horse. I devote as much of my time with horses both at home and abroad as I possibly can. I have recently returned to the UK, after spending a while travelling in South America, and wish to spend a lot more time exploring the places that I still have to discover here as well as the the rest of Europe all while doing good and helping the world by sharing my skills.

    - Knowledgeable using Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age


  • What else ...

    My previous work experience includes working in hostels, campsites, travel agencies and equestrian yards; both in South America and in Europe. I believe I can adapt quickly to change and enjoy learning about new cultures as well as spending a good amount of time in a country to really appreciate the place for what it really is.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements