Margot

  • Belgium
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi!

    My name is Margot! I'm 22 years old, currently spending most of my time (9 months out of 12 to be exact :) ) in Leuven, a small city nearby Brussels (Belgium). In my day-to-day life, I am studying medicine there, aiming to obtain my bachelor degree next year. Caring for people, being able to contribute to their well-being really speaks to me, needless to say I feel very passionate about what I'm studying.
    Friends and family would describe me as caring, responsible, tender-minded, calm, cheerful, absorbed in my own thoughts from time to time :). Although I enjoy being on my own every now and then, experiencing genuine human connection brings me joy and happiness. Workaway for me is an opportunity to explore other ways of life, to encounter other people and learn about their fascinating life stories, to contribute to their projects while learning more about myself each step along the way.

    I can't wait to meet you !
    Kisses and hugs
    Margot

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    General Maintenance

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    As a medical student, I have some experience providing medical care and first-aid. My first language is Dutch which I'd be happy to teach anyone who is interested :). I speak English pretty fluent, French on a more intermediate level and I have a basic knowledge of German and Italian. I have a drivers license for driving either manual or automatic. Although it's been a while now, I played tennis for most of my life, I'm a fairly good skier, I have been part of a theatre group for the last 2 years and I also have an Open Water diving degree. Although I'm certainly not a culinary mastermind :), I can make simple dishes and generally enjoy good, simple food the most myself. I enjoy working in the open/garden even though I don't really do it that often. Overall, I can say I look forward to acquiring new skills through Workaway and I'm ready and very interested to help with any type of task that might present itself! I always give myself 100 % and love working together and cooperating with each other.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Latin: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Greek: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Even though speaking English is important, gains you acces to an enormous amount of places and is able to connect so many people every day, speaking to people in their native language is very enriching and is able to convey certain nuances more clearly, nuances that would otherwise get lost in translation. Therefore I would really love to sharpen and extend my language skills ! I'm particularly interested in learning and becoming more fluent in German, Italian or Spanish but I want to grasp each opportunity that crosses my path to learn and experience a new language no matter which one it is :) . I'm also open to teaching a language myself: my mother tongue Dutch of course, but I could also teach English or French depending on the level that is required.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    Some other/fun facts about myself:
    - I decided about 2 years ago to commit to stop eating meat for environmental reasons. I have 'sinned' :) a couple of times since, but overall I've succeeded in changing my eating habits!

    - I have a twin sister who did a Workaway last year in Greece. She had a wonderful experience there which inspired me to have a look myself!

    - I love to read! During the summer I always try to finish at least one book because I think it enriches you as a person, stimulates your thoughts and is able to transfer people to places where they would otherwise never be able to 'visit'.
    - And last but not least, I can not wait to start further experiencing and exploring the wold through Workaway!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Feedback