Marek

  • Slovakia (Slovak Republic)
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (5)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Marek.
    I am from beautifull country situated in heart of Europe called Slovakia. For more than three years i´ve worked in the capital city (Bratislava) in financial department. Before pandemic situation i lived in Bratislava but last year i came back to my hometown Nitra to work in homeoffice. During last years i´ve been traveling always in form of vacation (usually for few weeks) but one day i´ve realized that i would like to travel more and experience some adventure. So I have decided that i am going to try backpacking.

    To describe my personality I would say that honesty and friendliness are my strongest atributes. I always care about good relationships with people in my life and I hate aggressiveness and pointless conflicts. In my opinion communication and empathy is very important and we should treat all people with respect and understanding. I am also usually trying to be openminded and in case of any issue i am always trying to do my best to find the most suitable sollution for everybody.

    From my hobbies i would say that most of the time i spend working as volunteer for organisation that helps agricultural animals in Slovakia to get better treatment and also for project that promotes sustainable food system. I love traveling and hiking so much. I am always trying to spend my free time in the woods near my hometown to absorb some energy for everyday life. We have beautiful mountains in Slovakia so during weekends i am always doing hiking. As another hobby i would mention music, my favourite genre is punkrock and metal music and i really love festivals, concerts and everything related.

    For me workaway means great opportunity to find a new friends, to help somebody, to learn some new skills and also to experience the life in various interesting countries.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Politics / Social justice
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    I work in financial accounting department in international company. I studied in University of Economics in Bratislava. The field of study was Social policy and social development. As a student i used to work in some restaurants as parttimer. I always cook for myself so to help in kitchen would not be problem. My native language is Slovak but I speak also English (upper intermediate) and understand everything in Hungarian (part of my family is Hungarian). Half year ago i have also started to attend the spanish language course. When I was younger I used to help my grandparents in their farm so i don´t mind to get my hands dirty or to do any physical work. I like all kinds of animals so it would be great to take care of some pets or farm animals. I am also active driver. Actually now I am staying with one amazing host family and with their lovely cats and dogs in Spain near Barcelona, helping them to do house cleaning and gardening. I should be available from beginning of October.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Hungarian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    29

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback