Mareike

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/08/2019 - 19/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    616

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I’m curious about other cultures. It’s very fascinating for me to see different lifestyles and to get to know other people’s ways of thinking. Everybody can teach everybody else something new, I'm sure you just have to listen and keep your eyes open.
    That is why I wanted to travel as much as possible after I finished school. But I got convinced that it's smarter to study first. So I did my bacherlor degree programme in International Business Management. The programme was a cooperation of three universities in Germany, Switzerland and France. I enjoyed it since we had international classes, changed the university each semester and learned a lot about cultures. Afterwards, I was thinking of travelling again but I got offered a good job. I worked there for about a year a project manager in the IT.
    But the wish of wanting to get to know other cultures, explore new ways of thinking and learn something new out of my comfort zone always stuck with me. And now? Well, I quit me job, travelled Latin America for 6months, did several workaways and am still curious about everything workaway has to teach me :)
    I'm looking forward to get to know all of you great people :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    In general, I'm open for everything that needs to be done. I'm an optimistic, friendly, open-minded, positive, warmhearted, flexible person who loves working in a team with other people.
    I can do any kind of basic household like tidying up, cleaning, etc. Especially cooking and baking (vegetarian/vegan) is something I like doing a lot.
    I grew up in a small house in a huge garden where I always played outside and helped in the garden or with some lighter maintenance work. Since I moved to urban areas for studying and working, I feel like I lost my connection to those nature-related tasks and would love to get it back.
    Due to my study and work experience, I'm good at planning and organizing. I'm good at tasks related to business administration or computer skills like Word, Excel or Powerpoint. Moreover, I'm good at explaining things, for example, I got my granny to use Whatsapp on her smartphone and my grandpa to use Instagram :D

    -> MOST IMPORTANT TO ME is to be exposed to new challenges, so please don't worry if the skills you need are not listed here! I'm a quick learner, want to gain new experiences, learn new skills and do tasks I never did before :)

    *Canadian workaways* yes, I have a Working Holiday visa (PVT) valid until August 2020

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, French and a bit of Spanish and a tiny bit of Finnish

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    I'm vegetarian, so I don't eat any kind of meat or fish. It would be great if you could consider that :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm vegetarian. I neither eat meat nor fish - but I see this as a very personal decision and do not judge anybody on their way of eating :)

Photos

Laughing me :D
My mum and I at Ankor Wat in November 2017
Hello there :)
Workaway in Colombia on a off-grid permaculture farm which was in the beginning of its construction
Workaway in Guatemala at a woman's weaving cooperative

Feedback