Lisa

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2020 - 01/11/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    COVID update: From May til now I have been road tripping solo through mostly BC and a little bit of Alberta. Now going up to the Yukon for October! I practice physical distancing when I am out, but mostly spend spare time in nature on trails etc.


    Hi! I’m an Aussie who left Australia in Dec 18 to travel solo for a few years. I spent 4 awesome months traveling through 7 countries in SE Asia, and then spent 1 month in the U.S.

    After that, I arrived in Canada in May 2019 where I have a 2 year working visa. I traveled the East coast (NL, NS, PEI, NB, ON, QC) during the Summer and settled in Prince Edward Island with a paid job for the Winter. I am keen to see more of Canada and do more workaways, for the Summer and Fall of 2020!

    I left my job in Australia, where I worked for the RSPCA Queensland for over 7 years, most recently as a Senior Inspector for 4 years. Obviously working in animal welfare I have a huge passion for animals - especially dogs!! - and I have tried to spend time with them in volunteer capacities and other ways, throughout my travels. I would love a workaway experience that would allow me to do that!

    Before working in animal welfare, I worked with children for over 6 years. I worked at a school, both in the school’s administration department, and as a teacher’s aide, as well as at the after school care. I love both kids and animals! After I got my RSPCA job, I continued to work with kids in a volunteer capacity through multiple organizations.

    Before traveling solo, I lived alone for the past 5 years, so I do enjoy having my own space to chill out when I want. But would still be happy to share some meals etc.

    I’m mature and driven, but obviously with traveling solo, I’m still keen for some fun and adventures. I am excited to meet new people and continue to have some amazing experiences! I can’t wait to do both via my first workaway experiences!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Good animal handling skills, particularly dogs. However not much hands-on experience with horses. I am not afraid to get my hands dirty in any situation.

    I was a manager of a large state-wide team of approx 30 staff, and regularly had to liaise with other departments and organizations, so am experienced with dealing with people of all types and personalities. Would be comfortable in any customer service environments. I also have a high level of administration skills, and would work well in an office environment if required.

    I have worked or volunteered with children between the ages of 2-12, for over 10 years. I enjoy working with kids, and finding ways to entertain them that suit the individual child.

    I’m an organiser! Need a kitchen cupboard or bookshelf etc organised and categorised I will happily sort it out!

    I’m not looking for a career in Canada, however I know that I’m a capable person, and I look forward to a bunch of new working/volunteer situations where I can use my skills and hopefully learn more!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    I would say the things that make me happiest, other than traveling, are dogs, seeing live music, watching sunsets in new places, reading, hanging out at the beach and hiking. I also love taking lots of photos on my explorations!

    My fave music has been The Beatles my entire life, and John Lennon in particular since I was a teen. I could also introduce you to lots of great Aussie artists! Happy to just chill out and listen to good music!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback