Mike & Susan

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2015 - 06/12/2015

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a New Zealand couple who have decided to take a year off from our careers and go travelling. We have been married for 31 years and have two adult daughters. We are fit and have a positive outlook on life. This year for is is about saying "yes" and having new adventures.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Both Susan and Mike are qualified teachers and have worked in English speaking primary, intermediate and secondary (high) schools. Mike has taught all subjects to 9 to 12 year olds. Susan has taught Home Economics (cooking and sewing) to 10 to 18 year olds and currently teaches Religious Education in a girls Catholic high school.

    We have a can-do attitude, are hard working and committed to giving of our best in all we do.

    Susan has worked in the past waitressing and in a bed and breakfast in Wales and is an experienced cook and house keeper.

    Mike has worked in international and domestic transport since 1985 in operational supervisory and management roles. He has drivers licenses for cars, vans and light and heavy vehicles (HGV) up to 18 tonnes and experience driving them.

    Both of us have had experience in customer service.

    We have fully landscaped our first house on a gently sloping site and more recently fully renovated and landscaped our second house.

    Mike is a good handy-man and has experience in plumbing, drainage, gib (dry-wall) hanging and plastering, timber framing, building fences, decks and retaining walls of wooden materials. He has worked alongside tradesmen doing electrical and plumbing work.

    We both can paint and wall paper.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    60 & 58

  • Nationality

    New Zealand

  • What else ...

    We are now committed until the end of 2015 and as Susan has accepted a job in New Zealand starting in 216 we will not return to Europe until further notice.
    Susan has a British passport and Mike has a NZ Passport with Right of abode in the UK.
    We both have current NZ Police checks available on request and Susan is a current NZ registered teacher.
    We have international drivers permits.
    We both love music, singing and playing guitar and have a creative bent. Susan is experienced in many crafts and is particularly good at sewing and cooking. Mike is a keen amateur photographer and we both love working with our hands and are physically fit.
    The workaways we have done so far are in.......
    France - where we were involved in painting, plastering, garden maintenance, cooking and cleaning.
    Southern England - where we were involved in building, plastering, sewing and cooking.
    Scotland - where we were involved in plastering, painting, cooking, sewing and change overs for self catering guest accomodation.
    Italy - where we were involved with child minding, general housework, cooking, teaching cooking to teenagers, building, replanting a garden and trimming plants, recovering chairs and altering clothes.
    Spain - where we were teaching English, child minding, cooking.
    Ireland - where we cooked, cleaned and changed guest rooms in the B and B, trimmed hedges, did gardening, resealed showers, varnished a floor, assembled and installed a cabinet, sewed curtains and reuphulstered chairs, met and greeted guests and helped with cooked breakfasts.
    Scotland - where we painted a bedroom, demolished the interior of a old cottage in preparation for renovation, worked on a Christmas craft seminar.
    We are not interested in staying in tents sorry.
    Blog: www.brebnertravels.wordpress.com
    Images: www.flickr.com/photos/mikebrebner/
    Email: mike@mikebrebner.co.nz

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Susan working with me helping my brother renovate his holiday home. We took out the kitchen cabinets and put in new shelving, sink, tap, high pressure and waste water. Yes, she does know how to use power tools.
Adding framing for a new ceiling in my brothers holiday home.
Mike at work plastering at a workaway in France.
Susan sewing cushions at Monzie Estate in Scotland
Mike stripping wallpaper at Monzie Estate, Scotland.
Susan and Mike putting up battens for cladding in Devon.
Risotto cooked by Susan in Devon
Chicken, leek and mushroom pie with fresh veges. Scotland.

Feedback