Leonore & Maarten-bas

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2016 - 31/10/2017

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Buenos dias!

    We are Maarten-Bas and Leonore from the Netherlands, both 26 years old and have picked up 'normal' life again after a 14 months during trip through South america.

    In South America we first bought a van and converted it into a campervan. Although the interior looked fantastic, the engine was an absolute piece of *️️️️*️️️️ so we didn't come far.
    Luckily we did make it to the destinations of two awesome Workaways.
    We helped out in a great hostel in Pucon, Chile for 6 weeks (running the bar and general maintenance/cleaning/reception assistance tasks) and after spend 4.5 weeks on a prune / walnut / grape farm in San Rafael, Argentina.

    Next up in our trip were Bolivia, Peru and Colombia, which we have explored by mountainbike, with all our stuff strapped on it and sleeping in our tent on the most beautiful mountains.
    Leonore made a great choice by spending 2 weeks on an ayahuasca retreat near Cuzco as Workawayer, with two of the best hosts you could wish for, while Maarten cycled on with a friend before coming to Cuzco.

    A bit more about ourselves: We are happy, hardworking, slightly philosphical and enthusiastic people with a lot of different interests, skills, stories and good energy to share but also learn from you and the other volunteers. We love being outside in nature and outdoor sports, so combining this and helping people out in their hostel/farm/school or the like is the perfect combination!
    We're also very interested in products/techniques (such as renewable energy) that make the world a more sustainable place and preserving nature so any eco-project would definitely be suitable for us as well.

    Right now we are back in the Netherlands working and saving up for our next big cycle trip to New Zealand. Maarten works as project manager and Leonore as treasury consultant, but for us both this is not the dream.

    That's also why, in the meantime, we want to spend our vacations in unknown places, with some short Workaways to discover more about the options apart from office life.

    If there's anything else you'd like to know, please feel free to contact us!

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    We've worked in: Reception, Veggie Farming (in Australia), Construction, Carpentry, Tutoring, Bookkeeping, Finance, Entrepreneurial.
    Soft skills: good with people, positive, openness, flexible, driven, fast and eager learners. We got them good vibes.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, okay Spanish

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements