Luke

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2015 - 31/12/2028

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I have been travelling for the past 4 and a half years, mainly around Europe but also into North Africa and now South America. I have found it to be the most amazing experience. We have to try to be happy in life and I think that travelling, experiencing new things everyday and meeting amazing people all the time is a good way to do it.

    For me travelling has become a way of life, it is hard to describe myself without concentrationg on my passion for travel. I love to spend time in communities or in hostels as these are the places where I meet most people and the constant changing of people provides an exciting and fluid dynamic.

    I like to pick up on the energy of a group, naturally I am quite peaceful and relaxed but at the same time I get a lot of energy from being around people and like to think of things we can do to enjoy our time together.

    Because I only write to hosts that really interest me, when I do the work it is always something which I enjoy so it's very easy to be motivated.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have been travelling for over 4 years now and have done plenty of workaways along the way, this in it's self has taught me a lot of skills. I really enjoy ecological construction and I am always looking to learn more in this area as I would one day like to build a house of my own. My main skills are with working with wood (my actual job) but I also know basic electrics and construction but more as a hobby, but generally handy.

    I have spent a lot of time living in communities which is another great teacher of skills, socially and physically. I have cared for all kinds of different animals along the way, donkeys, pigs, goats, sheep, chicken, horses, cats and so many dogs. This is again work that I really enjoy, I love the connection with the animals and find it very easy to give them my care.

    I have also spent quite some time working in hostels, guest houses, hotels and campsites. This has given me a lot of skills working with tourists. It is something that I am also really good at, I have a good character and always want people to enjoy themselves so if I am working with tourists it is very natural that I want to help them enjoy their stay as much as possible. I have of course done a fair share of cleaning and bed changing.

    I have also walked a sheep on a lead through a town, built a house from carpets in the desert and cooked scrambled eggs for a dog (workaways can be strange sometimes haha)

    Before I set off travelling I spent 4 years working as a secondary school science teacher in England. From this I can interact well, be organised and can even be professional if it is really necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am basically just a happy guy who wants to meet new people and enjoy life together. I also have a real desire to learn new skills to benefit my life (and others) in the future. I like to care for the environment and animals as well as my fellow humans.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Profile is connected to:

EllieBH


Photos

Feedback