Lukas

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/07/2019 - 11/07/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am Lukas, 23 years old and finished my bachelor of engineering in renewable energy. I grew up in a small town near the dutch-german border and moved 2015 to cologne to start my studies.
    I am always looking for an adventure. Unfortunately my studies and jobs kept me close to my home country. But now, I am free to earn new experience, get in touch with new people, discover new landscapes far away from home.

    I want to look behind the horizon, because I was always interested what it would be like to live and work on a different continent. Besides I'd like to improve my English. It is very important for me as a prospective engineer and would be a good match with my wish to meet new people and learn about a different culture.

    I really like the nature and that is among other things, why I studied renewable energy. I want to improve the world, and make it a better place. There are so much possibilities we can do for it. I think Canada might be a country I could learn more about sustainability. It might be a country where you can share and exchange your knowledge about nature protection.

    I am kind of a relaxed person. I don't like to get upset. I think it is more important to enjoy what you have, then to complain about what you don't have.

    I have no experience with working in a foreign country, but I am confident I could change that.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    School Education
    I went to a regular school till 10th grade. After that I started my engineering career. I decided to focus on mechanical engineering and went to a secondary school for further 3 years. So after that graduation I got my general higher education entrance qualification and started studying renewable energy. During this time I worked in different places. I often worked in different warehouses but I also worked in a retirement home.

    Studies
    My studies are about the basics of an engineer. It tought me the most important things about mathematics, physics, mechanic and electric engineering. We had a lot of projects during the semesters, so I gained experience in pracical apllications. I completed a practical semester in an office for photovoltaic planning. I planned and built PV-Systems at "Energiegewinner eG" in Cologne for half a year. The last semester I was working for my bachelor thesis at "RheinEnergie AG", which is about the energy supply structure of destricts.
    During my studies I learned a lot about group work, project planning and soft skills. I have always been told that I am a team player in the group, which contributes a great part to its success. I also prefer to work in a group or with a buddy then to work alone. It is also nessessary to know the basics of Microsoft Office, so I am good at dealing with Excel, Word and Powerpoint, too.

  • Languages spoken

    German (native), English (learning)

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    I will add some more information as soon as I can think of something interesting.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Not allergic to anything

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

FabianH


Photos

Feedback