Lucy & Claire

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    France
    View all
  • Description

    We are a married couple in our mid 30s. We welcomed our little boy Finley in February 2022 and are making the most of the opportunity to travel whilst he’s young and adaptable and whilst we both have time out from paid work.
    We both love people and making the world a better place, and chose careers that reflected this, Lucy is a trainee counsellor and trained occupational therapist who previously worked in older people's mental health team and Claire is a social worker and previously manager for a children's charity.
    We loved the Workaway opportunities we had in 2016/17 when we last had the opportunity to travel.
    In the past we have spent time doing up our beautiful little flat in Bournemouth uk, so are no strangers to DIY and a bit of trial and error! We have always loved spending time outside, and cooking- which has led to us making several attempts to grow our own veggies at home.

    In 2016-2017 we set off with a car and a tent travelling around Europe, during our time in Europe we spent a month volunteering to support a school's project in a refugee camp in Greece and some time woofing on a farm in Slovenia- which gave us our first introduction to permaculture.

    We then travelled in India and some of South East Asia, we've loved exploring new cultures, tastes, sounds and sights, but mostly we've loved meeting people on our journey, locals and travellers alike.

    Around 6 months into our trip we discovered the wonderful world of workaway! we:
    -Helped teach children English in an after school club in Cambodia
    -Cleaned cabins, and looked after the property, animals and gardens at a holiday park in Australia
    -Dethatched a lawn, built a fence, painted a sleep out (granny anex), up cycled furniture, harvested and preserved fruits, aswell as looking after a dog as big as a badger in New Zealand
    -And of course plenty of weeding, raking, cooking and cleaning along the way.

    Over this time we have discovered that we love the work and culture exchange! We had a great time learning new skills, especially learning more about being gentle with the land- but most of all we've loved meeting people and feel like we have come away with many friends from our experiences.

    We realise it will be a bit of a different experience Workaway-ing with a child and will happily discuss how the work exchange will work best/fairly considering one of us will be occupied with Finley at times. Although he is a lot of fun so will gladly exchange giggles and smiles with you :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    Lucy speaks a small amount of French but am always interested in opportunities to improve!

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Languages
  • More details about your skills

    We are both friendly, practical, problem solvers! We enjoy new experiences, learning new skills and helping others out- so are up for giving anything ago!
    Our dream is to one day run a campsite (somewhere in the world....) with enough land for us to grow our own food, so we are specially interested in learning more about organic farming, working on the land and accommodation providers.
    But we love getting stuck in, aren't afraid of screw driver, a paint brush or a duster.
    Claire is also qualified adult learning tutor and children’s social worker.
    Lucy is a trainee counsellor.
    We also love to help on community projects too!

  • Age

    35 & 34

  • What else ...

    We both enjoy all types of games board games card games etc.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We follow a plant based diet but can provide our own food/cook our own food as required and have absolutely no judgement on what anyone else eats!

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback