Luci

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello my name is Luci. I am a 56 year old Englishwoman.
    I’m friendly and chatty and resourceful.
    I like to laugh and can almost always see the funny side of things even in bad situations.
    Until a couple of years ago I lived in a small village in south west England where I raised my three daughters as a single mum. They are all grown up now and off on their own adventures, and I really miss them! Three years ago I packed up my house and moved into a converted ambulance to experiment with living life in a different way. Since then I've mostly lived in Spain, travelling around meeting people, trying to learn Spanish and pick up some new skills. Of course the last year has been a bit unusual, with lockdown and everything, but I was lucky enough to meet some really interesting and kind people along the way who were still keen to have volunteers during the crisis, and ended up having a great experience and learning a lot.
    I'm back in the UK now until things settle down a bit, still with my ambulance and keen to find some more Workaway hosts closer to home.

    I’m interested in people and like hearing about experiences, dreams and ideas and new ways of seeing the world. I enjoy being around young people. I'm a bit older than the average Workawayer these days and often end up being the 'mum' of a group, which I quite like.
    I've been doing voluntary work one way or another since my twenties, helping kids in an inner city school to read and engage with books, wwoofing on organic farms, and working for various charities as a counsellor.
    I like nature and being outside. Being in nature is what always helps me re-set when things get tough. I like riding my bike, reading novels, art house films, indoor climbing, printmaking, making mosaics.
    I'm also training to be a Hakomi therapist, (a form of body psychotherapy), and try and practice yoga when I can.
    I’ve done some travelling, backpacking trips in India with my kids when they were young, lots of cycling holidays in Portugal, Czech Republic, Spain, Denmark. I’ve backpacked Australia and lived in NZ for a couple of years.
    I’d love to be part of a project however big or small, help others, learn something, teach something, and hopefully find richness variety and inspiration. I hope also to discover something new about myself.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Van life
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    I’m a counsellor and spent around seven years working mainly with people who have experienced bereavement, psychological trauma, abuse, addiction, things like that, so I can be a good listener. I can also share some ideas with you about mindfulness, body psychotherapy and mindful self study if you are interested in yourself in that way.

    Before that job, I was a gardener for many years, so I know something about horticulture, for example, I know how to propagate cuttings, prune, plant, dig mulch etc. I can use machinery like a strimmer and ride-on mower and how to prune fruit trees. I know about using organic pest control like nematodes for slugs. I don't have a garden these days but when I did it was full of flowers, raspberries tomatoes courgettes and chillies.

    I’m a native English speaker so can teach you some of the language if you like.I also speak a tiny bit of French and continue to learn Spanish (very slowly!)
    At the end of last year I did some house and pet sitting in Andalusia and was lucky enough to be asked to stay on with the house owner, a naturalist who taught me all sorts of things about wildlife, birds and plants in the locality. In particular I learned a lot about the wonderful world of moths! If you are interested I can show you how to trap and identify the moths in your garden.

    What else, I’m a mother, old enough to be a grandma now really, so I can help out with kids, babies to teenagers. I spent a few months in lockdown with my 12 year old nephew helping out with home schooling.

    I spent quite a bit of time doing up my house ready to let, so I have some idea how to to tile, sand floors with a machine, use power tools and paint walls.
    Last year I've been in Spain helping to build an eco house from recycled materials and earth-bags, making mud plaster, building a bottle wall and whitewashing just about anything that didn't move, as well as planting trees, and making endless jars of orange marmalade, pickles, and jams from the fruit trees where I was staying.
    I like animals, especially dogs, and don’t mind picking up poop. More recently I've been living with a Buddhist community in Derbyshire, doing all sorts of things, from gold leafing and sanding buddha statues and rolling mantras, to gardening, painting and cooking.
    I did some wwoofing in my twenties milking goats and cows by hand on organic farms, also catching and gutting fish, pruning fruit trees, and digging a latrine.

    All were remarkable enriching and fun experiences that yielded lasting friendships and I’m hoping to repeat this now on home turf.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'm currently learning Spanish online and would love to learn more in person. Im happy to help anyone with English conversation and basic grammar

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    56

  • What else ...

    I also have a license to drive a large van

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      slightly asthmatic around horses, but I have an inhaler.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian.

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback