Lotte

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/09/2019 - 18/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    With a passion for food, gardening and travelling , I lived a nomadic life for the last 5 years. Living out of my van, I volunteered in numerous projects all around Europe, in some organic farms, startup outdoor businesses preparing their land and a cultural centre, from periods to a few weeks, till 2 years. Every project involved different tasks and learning opportunities like creating an organic vegetable garden, cooking vegan meals for groups up to 12 people, hosting tourist, making natural cosmetics, herbalism, gardening etc

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Over the last 3 years I’ve had my own reasonably sized garden for two seasons, and worked the last year at two other gardening projects. I studied a lot about permaculture, and tried to implement these ideas as much as I could. We made our own hot compost, had a worm compost, focused on giving back to the soil as much as we could. I surely still have lots to learn (it’s a lifetime of learning right!) but it’s something I am passionate about.

    Living with a bunch of volunteers in various projects, I have a good eye on keeping things organised and clean. I also lived two years in the project of my partner (you can find it on workaway ‘Not Your Typical Project - Northwest Mountains of Spain - Cultural Exchange - Garden - Small Village’) hosting volunteers. You can read some references in there, I am in many of them. I find it important to make people feel comfortable and at home in my house.

    I LOVE TO COOK. I regularly cooked lunch and dinner for a team of 7 people, sometimes more. Mainly vegan. But I for sure can cook vegetarian or for carnivores. For many years I made conservatives for winters or for exchange. I think my strenght in cooking is to cook with what is available. Give me ingredients and I will figure something out. I usually don’t have fixed recipes and be creative with what I have. Besides food I also know how to make some natural cosmetics, like creams, toothpowder, and sunscreen!

    Living in and around forest, I have some experience on identifying wild herbs, plants and fruits. To use them for home remedies, infusions and cooking.

    I like to be creative. When it comes to drawing, making jewellery or even cooking, I wouldn’t call myself an artist, but I enjoy doing it and will put my love into it.

    Staying busy is easy for me. Its important to relax but when it comes to work I have a good eye on seeing what work has to be done, I’m a responsible and independent worker. Give me a job, and I’ll do it. If I’m not sure, I’ll ask questions. I like to feel useful. It’s hard for me to stay in a place where nobody lets me help out, even if I’m a guest.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, Spanish, French

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    Some things that make me happy: Community life, the ocean ánd the mountains, good food (don’t make me choose between sweet or salty, and I love desert!), eating together, swimming in the sea, feeling the earth of the garden with my bare hands, see my veggies grow, chill in the hammock, listen to a nice reggae tune, having a dance with the sun on my face, seeing our dog running through the field, the feeling I really learned something, to see the ambition of my partner , being surrounded by good people, new adventures...

    Some things that makes me sad: Pollution, bad communication, no respect for human or animal life.

    On volunteering: I have no ambition to focus on making money, and I'm happy to collaborate with a project that can use the help. As far back as I can remember, I've been a volunteer.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Preferably vegan, but when the animalproducts are local or organic, I don’t mind having dairy, eggs or meat.

Photos

Feedback