Lorraine & Serafin

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/10/2020 - 30/04/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Lorraine was born Isle of Wight, UK, studied stage management in London, and got an amazing job for a couple of years, travelling a lot. Then, after 6 months in Rome, settled for Spain (Catalunya) for 23 years. 3 children, now all over 25. Serafin is Spanish. We owned an 'alternative' restaurant in Banyoles, Girona, for 3 years ( Happy Cow) and then a Spanish restaurant (El Toro Contento) in Ventnor, Isle of Wight, for 12 years, but our feet itch like crazy, so now we prefer to work seasonal jobs. We are open to all possibilities, we just love cooking, travelling, walking, beaches and palm trees, sunshine, being outdoors, good food and wine...
    Serafin is very Spanish (!), an excellent driver and cook, hardworking and polite. His English is slowly improving - he spends hours on duolingo. He used to drive car transporters all over Europe. We own a little hovel in the mountains of Jaén, Andalucía, and it turns out we've got a cave too, so we need to learn how to renovate this! We also need to learn about planting vegetables, and looking after chickens.
    Summer 2017 we both worked on the Costa Brava, and in the winter we worked as a Chalet couple in La Tania, France.
    In the summers of 2018 and 2019, Serafin was driving a bus for a campsite in Spain and Lorraine was cooking in Kalamaki, Zakynthos, Greece, and 2020 we were lucky enough to get a reduced summer season.
    Looks like this year we'll have plenty of time in the winter for workaway adventures!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    We can cook, clean, drive, paint, do simple maintenance, gardening.
    We'd like to learn about rehabilitating a cave, going off grid (we hope to do this soon) working in a hotel/ hostel/ b&b, looking after chickens, planting, looking after, harvesting vegetables & fruit trees ... all for our future life...

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Greek: Beginner

  • Age

    61 & 62

  • Nationality

    Spanish

  • What else ...

    We believe in being happy, but in a quiet sort of way....more like "contented" I think, and also in being nice to everybody...

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Lorraine is pretty difficult, (blood group diet) so we prefer to cook. And we are really happy to cook!!!

Photos

Feedback