Lois

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 15/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, I have turned another decade and taking time out, to travel, experience new things and different cultures. I am young at heart, good sense of humour, fit and healthy, hard working, organised and trustworthy.
    I like to meet new people and talk about their experiences. Happy to work alone, unsupervised, good common sense and considerate. Also I like to work as a team with all ages. I enjoy working outside, no matter what the weather and don't mind getting my hands dirty, but happy inside too. I have done a fair bit of voluntary work in the past, similar to Workaway, helping on farms, including care farming with young adults with learning disabilities and autism.
    For 7 years I helped run a seasonal, mostly vegetarian, wholefood cafe in West Cork, Ireland, plus occasional shop work. Before that I worked for the NHS as a healthcare professional doing hospital and community work.
    In November 2017 I travelled around Poland for one month and took part in a 5 day Workaway intensive English speaking program for Polish adults, which I really enjoyed.
    January and February 2018 I was in India, part travelling, plus some Workaway. I spent one month helping to cook for 20-30 people in north India and had a great experience.
    After that, I volunteered for 2 weeks at a YHA youth hostel in the South Downs, UK, helping in the kitchen and housekeeping.
    Last summer's Workaway was spent on beautiful Clare Island, Mayo, Ireland for a wonderful 4 months, helping with their organic veg garden, cafe and housekeeping.

    I am already in Ireland and have been since lockdown in March, therefore able to travel within restrictions.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Cooking vegetarian food, baking cakes and bread, jam and chutney making. Gardening planting, clearing, pruning, harvesting fruit, veg, trees and flowers also mowing grass. Housesitting and looking after pets including chickens and pigs. Painting and decorating inside and outside plus decluttering and organising. Crafts and sewing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    53

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I love nature, walking and exploring. I am passionate about food, cooking, music and the environment. I am an animal lover, from cat, dogs to wildlife.
    I strangely enjoy cleaning, especially clearing and organising cupboards.
    Also I enjoy gardening, weeding, plating, mowing and pruning.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback