Lois

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/08/2018 - 15/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    633

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!
    I'm Lois, I'm 23 from London (although Bristol is my home), I recently graduated with a degree in Philosophy and Sociology and am spending the year doing some travelling, I'm heading to Mexico very soon and I can't wait!
    I loved my degree and have a passion for writing, reading, academia and literature. I am in the process of applying for my masters in 'international development and humanitarian emergency' and am currently very interested in philosophy of racism and sociological critiques of aid (just to give you a bit of insight into my nerdy side).
    I live for good conversation and sharing ideas, I believe that every person has things to teach me. I'm a knowledge sponge - whether that be academic, practical or experiential. I'm a good listener and I take great joy in listening to people's stories. I cam sociable and open, but I also like (and sometime crave) spending time alone. I've been involved with some political activism in England and am deeply passionate about the environment and sustainability.
    Aside from spending a lot of time in a library with my head in books, I have an affinity with nature and great passion for the outdoors - I cycle everywhere in England, I love swimming in rivers and dancing in the sunshine, skiing, camping, kayaking, climbing trees, long walks in the woods, adventures in the sea. I love travelling and getting lost in foreign places. I feel stillness and calm in chaotic cities, just as I do in mossy ancient woodlands.
    I love taking care of my body through attention to nutrition and exercise and bringing mindfulness into my physical self, I love yoga and acro yoga is a big passion of mine - I train in it twice a week normally.
    I spend lots of my free time cooking, it is one of my favourite things to do, there is very little more satisfying for me than sharing food with others, I would love to live somewhere where I can grow my own food one day. I love art, photography, painting, life drawing and making things. Oh and I love animals (but I don't like eating them)!
    I get on very well with kids and love embracing their inquisitive nature and playing, learning from each other through song, play and adventure. I cared for my younger brother growing up, then was a babysitter throughout my teenage years, then was an aupair in Spain. I don't get to spend much time with children these days, so I would love to.
    I spend many hours a week finding new music and love travelling the world and through time by listening to music. I have a project of recording sounds wherever I go. I am interested in meditation and spirituality and have recently found Buddhist philosophy very nurturing. I also love dance meditation like 5rhythums and kirtan singing.

    Phew! I think that's everything, perhaps we have things in common?

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a passion for food and am an excellent cook - I have experience working in big kitchens, both managing, cooking and serving; I have spent several weeks doing heavy lifting/construction and gardening in Asturias and I’m willing/capable of that kind of thing; I have great customer service skills; I practise acro yoga and am more than happy to share my love and skills (but I am by no means a teacher); I can tutor English at all levels, from very basic to nuanced, advanced level; I have lots of knowledge and passion for Philosophy and Sociology and am happy to tutor in this - I have a wealth of resources - books, papers, lectures, notes that I am happy to share from my degree; I have spent 2 months as an Aupair, and have experience looking after both young children and babies; whilst an Aupair I did a lot of general house maintenance - washing, gardening, shopping, cooking, cleaning, childcare which I am more than happy to do again; I am creative and love art - I enjoy teaching children art and adding creative touches to homes; my house in the UK was like a mini jungle - I love gardening and plants; I am strong and hardworking and. most importantly I am enthusiastic and a very quick learner, I'm an information sponge who loves to learn - if I don't currently have the skills/knowledge - I can learn!

  • Languages spoken

    English (mother tongue, degree level educated); Spanish (learning, can generally communicate fine but not at all fluent).

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I would ideally like to live with people who are willing to converse in Spanish for most of the time. I am happy to teach English at specific times, but part of my reason for being in Mexico is to improve my Spanish. This might be boring for you, because my Spanish isn't very good - but I've got to learn somewhere, and I'm really committed to improving it!

    I have a motorbike license, but not a car license!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No!

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan, can cook delicious vegan food and am happy to prepare my meals separately if needed.

Photos

In my wonderful (and troubled) hometown of London.
In the THAR desert India,on the border of Pakistan.
In Bundi, Rajasthan, India
At a festival in Hungary.
Acro yoga - my love!
Skiing in Italy
This summer at a music festival in London.

Feedback