Liz & Cal

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, India, Peru, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/01/2019 - 01/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a young friendly British couple who have decided to leave our hometown and our jobs to travel through North and South America and India for a year. We have previously backpacked Europe together and more recently road-tripped a part of the US. We are keen to get a real feel for the places we visit rather than just follow the backpacker route. We would love to learn about local cultures and connect with the people we meet there and decided that Workaway would be a great opportunity to do that. We think that experiences are an invaluable part of life. We are flexible and work well together or independently.


    Liz:
    I have South American heritage which is initially how this trip came about. My main goal has been to visit there and soak up the wealth of diverse culture that South America offers, especially the food and the way of life the different countries offer.
    For the past 6+ years, I have worked as a Goldsmith for an independent master jewellery makers in Canterbury where I learned to design and craft fine jewellery from scratch, in a variety of precious metals. I had a high level of input and responsibility into all facets of the business, from managing the shop and staff, to customer service and social media.
    I’m a curious person who loves to listen to podcasts about many different topics, as I really like to hear other people's stories. To me communication is key.


    Cal:
    Having lived and worked in Canterbury for most of my life it's time to leave and explore some of the world.
    I am especially keen to get out of my comfort zone, visit and experience different countries and cultures in the most authentic way possible and workaway seems the perfect way to do so.
    I am a friendly, laid back guy who enjoys music, film and football. After I return to the UK I intend on getting into another passion of mine - street food. I hope to set up my own business selling Cajun and Creole inspired food.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Liz:
    I am a down-to-earth creative person who likes to work with my hands, whether it be cooking, sewing, DIY, painting, gardening or decorating. Due to my profession I have a keen eye for detail. I am friendly, positive and resourceful, and the environment is important to me. A quick learner, I'm keen to share my knowledge and broaden mine in turn. I'm happy organizing and cleaning but overall I am a genuine and humorous person with a lot of initiative.

    Cal:
    I am a hardworking, able bodied individual with a good eye for design and spaces. Always happy to give things a go and willing to get my hands dirty.
    I have been working as a project coordinator for an office refurbishment company for 4 years so have an understanding of construction work and dealing with people. This job has also involved interior design & space planning which utilized my creative skills. I have previously worked in customer service and estate agency. I also have a passion for food which I hope to explore more when I return by starting a new business.

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning Spanish

  • Age

    25 & 26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more