Linus Jakob

  • Denmark
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Linus, and I wish to be a motivated person in search of happiness! Lately I have discovered that seizing the day, breaking out of my bubble and learning about other people helps me to do that. I am fascinated by other cultures, alternative mindsets and lifestyles different from mine, and this has driven me first to learn about the histories and customs of other nations, later to acquire a good command of the English language (and a moderate command of German) and now to travel.

    I am 21 years old, born and raised in the mid-sized Danish port city of Aarhus to a pair of high school Danish and English teachers. I have a large and international family, which gave my first experience with childcare, and later led me to work professionally as a full-time kindergarten assisant for nine months after I graduated from a Danish high school and attended a particularly Danish højskole (a place where young people gather of their own volition to be taught in philosophy, music, creative writing, art and theatre, without exams). I am a lover of all art, most of all I appreciate literature, but I am also passionate about music, painting, theatre and filmmaking, all variations of storytelling.

    My family has always travelled a lot, so I have been all over the world, but I have a particular soft spot for Italy. Almost every fall since I was born, I have visited Tuscany, because of my parents' olive oil and wine import business, and I've fallen in love with Italian cooking, nature, language and general mentality.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have a bit of experience with a range of different fields.

    I have worked for the last nine months in childcare, in a Danish kindergarten, where my duties have involved entertaining the kids with educational games, singing, telling stories, comforting, arranging trips and solving conflicts, but also practical tasks like cleaning, cooking, washing clothes and helping out with the properties of the kindergaten.

    I have worked for a short while (a couple of weeks) as a cleaning assistant at the højskole I once attended, basically cleaning the entire property (windows, floors, etc.) and operating a floor cleaning machine.

    When I was younger I serviced customers in the small wine/coffee/chocolate shop owned by my father, until it closed upon his death in 2018.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Latin: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    22

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Feedback