From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Italy, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/08/2019 - 28/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Lindy, artist, translator and research manager, I am taking a break from work and from the Sydney winter which is hardly cold at all but still too cold for me! I sail, swim, do yoga daily, make art, do not sing or play an instrument but love music, cook, garden, ride a bike in Sydney and, of course, love meeting new people and getting an insight into their world. I have a house in central Sydney which is kind of an artistic, green oasis in the middle of the city, close to the harbour, where I live with a small changing community of likeminded people. I have most recently been helping out one of the friends who stayed in the house in Sydney with a documentary film project in her native Bulgaria.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a bank of skills to offer - I grew up building boats, houses, laying concrete, gardening, whatever else my boatbuilder dad thought was a good idea! So I know how to use tools and am ridiculously practical and inclined to problem solve! I have my own garden in Sydney that I love and look after, happy to do anything that involves outdoor work. I am also an artist, I make large scale and small scale 3D installations, wall pieces and room dividers, using a technique I developed myself. I am a good photographer with my own equipment and am also adept at social media, I ran a research network at Sydney University for the last five years and was responsible for all the PR and event management, including lectures, workshops, film screenings, art installations and a whole heap more, see details at I speak fluent Italian, good Spanish and would like to pick up more languages, I am a qualified translator from Italian to English and also an editor and proofreader, mainly for academic texts but can edit anything, including copy for websites. I have also taught both English and Italian at all levels over many years, I have a degree in languages and linguistics. Last but not least, I am also a pretty good cook!

  • Languages spoken

    I speak Italian and Spanish, would quite like to learn French or Greek

  • Age


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements