Lia

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/10/2019 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Dear community

    I am Lia from Cologne, Germany. I decided to leave the office work life for a while to go travelling.

    I last worked in the field of TV Production and event management.
    However, for my workaway experience I would like to work in something completely different, preferably experience farm life and work with horses and/or other animals.

    I would describe myself as a very positive, open-minded and energetic person and I pursue an active and healthy lifestyle. I am very compassionate, I care a lot about animals and the environment and try to live my life accordingly.

    As soon as the sun comes out you can find me outside, hiking, jogging, biking or relaxing. Obviously travelling and meeting interesting people is my passion, I believe this is where we all here connect ;-).

    Travelling to New Zealand and Australia has always been on my bucket list and now I am making it happen.
    As my mother is Portuguese, I was raised bilingual and speak fluent German and Portuguese. I am also fluent in English, as I have worked and lived in Ireland some time and studied English in university.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I did horseback riding for 13 years since I was 6, today I don't ride as often, but whenever I get the chance. My horsemanship skills are good and I feel comfortable handling horses unassisted. Additionally, I have worked in a big horse racing stable
    near Melbourne, so now am experienced in handling young Thoroughbreads. I would love to get back into riding on a regular basis, my experience goes as far as dressage and basic jumping.

    I grew up on the country side in an old farmhouse, my family had chicken, rabbits, cats, a dog and a horse. We have properties with fruit trees and my dad is a carpenter. I grew up with animals and the annual fruit picking, as well as helping my dad with work like painting, polishing or grinding (wood) from time to time. My mum owns a B&B enclosed in our house, so I am also used to helping her with that, clean the rooms for new guests, make breakfast etc.

    Since I graduated from school, I worked in several side jobs, either in Germany or while travelling. I worked with children quite some time, for example as Au-Pair in Ireland, as Babysitter in Germany and also as a tutor for school students for the subjects German and English.
    Additionally, I worked as hostess for trade fairs, as waitress, in a gym and on festivals (Artist-Management and as barkeeper).

    I can see myself conduct any job related to nature, animals or humans/children, tech-related work not so much.

  • Languages spoken

    German (fluent), English (fluent), Portuguese (fluent), French (basic)

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    German & Portuguese

  • What else ...

    -

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat vegetarian/vegan.

Photos

Feedback