From: Sweden

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/08/2017 - 13/05/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Leo Kowalski, I am 26 years old originally from Stockholm, Sweden. I have a background studying music (violin) and am currently pursuing a master's degree in cognitive science. I'm easy-going and always open to new experiences!

    I love to travel and meet new people to experience alternative lifestyles, drawing me to volunteering. I am especially fascinated by self-sustainability and permaculture and would love the opportunity to learn more about this, intending to have my own farm in the future.

    Additionally I have a strong interest in mindfulness and continually learning more about myself and the world. I enjoy reading, listening to music, and spending time in nature. I am very fascinated by meditation/yoga and have a large interest in psychology and philosophy.

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I have previously volunteered on eight farms and hostels/retreats (wwofing and workaway) so have a fair bit of experience when it comes to farm-work and maintenance. Among other things I have done a lot of gardening with tasks like planting, weeding, harvesting, water systems etc. I have also taken care of animals including chickens, ducks, goats and sheep. Additionally I have worked on several building projects, ranging from basic repair work and building minor structures to helping with renovation.

    With my background in cognitive science I am fairly good with computers, and if I’m able to bring my violin I’m happy to share some music :) At the hostel/retreat I learned a lot about service and enjoy being with other people and working as part of a team. Being lucky enough to be born into a family of many languages I speak Swedish, Polish and English. I have learned a lot from volunteering and am always looking to learn new skills as well as sharing what I know!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I am primarily interested in self-sustainability and would ideally have my own self-sufficient farm or retreat center in the future. I practice meditation/yoga and would love to learn more and share this with others. I am very interested in literature, music, philosophy, psychology/neuroscience and enjoy talking about and sharing ideas.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Preferably vegetarian/vegan but flexible.