Leah

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/05/2019 - 01/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    100%– down to my core– I'm a fun-loving and creative individual. I grew up in an Australian city and am doing my best to explore the world around me. I travel with an open heart and an open mind, ready to make lasting connections and take on new challenges!

    I am not currently travelling but am open to experiences within my home country :)

    I have a Bachelor of Arts (Hons.) in Creative Writing and Literature so I love to write as well as discuss books and films with others. I've also worked 5 years in hospitality where I shine as a people person.

    I'm hoping I can use workaway to truly experience a place and its culture. Part of my being a writer/reader/viewer, I love to uncover unique stories in places and cultures as well as I love to learn the languages we communicate in. I've tried to self-study many languages but can only speak English fluently :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Having studied creative writing and literature, I regard myself as a good communicator with above-average English skills.

    Working hospitality, I'm great with people, cleaning and working under pressure. I also do some heavy lifting as I'm stronger than I appear and I don't shy away from manual labour.

    I'm good with kids– This partly comes from being an eldest child and an eldest cousin to 4 kids 10 years younger than me, but it also comes from having done babysitting in high school and looking out for the kids who come into the restaurant I work at.

    I'm trying to be a better cook. Admittedly, I'm not the greatest cook. I'm very slow and cautious and I get nervous cooking for others but my friends like what I make and I'm trying my best to improve.

    I have an Australian driver's license if that counts as a skill?

    Honestly, the best way to summarise what I can do is by saying: I can do anything once I've been shown how. And once I've been shown how, I put all my energy into doing the best possible job because that's just my nature.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Croatian: Beginner
    Japanese: Beginner
    Korean: Beginner

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I have heaps of energy and enjoy being outside. I enjoy long walks and day hikes (usually in the hot Aussie weather), swimming, ice-skating (at a rink when I can) and playing games! I also know a lot of good campfire kind of games.

    I'm tech savvy– which includes photo editing and video making– and I'm good at crafts like knitting, crochet, embroidery and drawing.

    I'm very language curious! I will insist you teach me anything and everything you can!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback