From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Costa Rica, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/08/2018 - 31/01/2020

  • Badges


  • My status


  • Description

    •Bonjour, Hello, Hola, I am originally from England but called Australia home for ten years and I am a dual national and very fortunate. I have traveled to over 65 countries, a few of these include; India, Morocco, Brazil, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Mozambique and Namibia. I have done many different jobs like teaching English, bricklaying/construction work in England, cleaning boats in Florida, bar work in New York, Public relation work in Spain, I have worked on a farm in Australia and with people with disabilities. I have also volunteered some time in a Buddhist centre in Australia, a kindergarten in French Polynesia, a hostel in Namibia and helping a family in Fiji. I think the world is such a wonderful and diverse place and I am constantly amazed at how different we live our lives. I am an easygoing person and try to treat others with respect. I am interested in learning different skills and living in different environments and experiencing different cultures. I love music, reading, learning languages, I can play the drums, I like to surf and explore.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I am an English teacher and have experience teaching privately, in a classroom and on-line. I have taught English in Chile, Ecuador, Costa Rica and French Polynesia. I have a qualification for teaching English as a foreign language, so if you or your children need help to improve their English skills I would be very happy to help. I can do hands on work and I am not afraid to get my hands dirty. I also work well within a team environment but I am happy and capable of working alone. I am good at talking to people and enjoying being social. I have worked in hospitality and caring and enjoyed looking after people with disabilities as it can be very rewarding. I have experience-managing people in a facility for people with disabilities. I am good with children and I am very happy to learn new skills as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I will be respectful, reliable, hard working and I will use my common sense and not always wait around to be told what to do but try and take the initiative. I am volunteering as I would like to see a side of the countries culture that sometimes you do not get by just traveling through as you do not always have enough time or the opportunity to really get used to the customs or local way of life, and staying somewhere longer may present the opportunity to learn things about local customs and hopefully meet people I can learn from and have new experiences .I speak French to C1 level and Spanish to a B2 level. I am under no time restraints as this is a life style choice for me for the future. I have a profile on a web site called couch surfing where I have some more information etc- https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/lh82

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements