Leandra

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Morocco, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/03/2019 - 14/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there,
    I am Leandra, 22 years old and I would love to experience more travel by contributing to a shared purpose or goal. I’ve felt that a connection of that kind with people and their culture is irrreplaceable as I’ve learned in and from my time in Nicaragua. I lived there for four months after graduation and helped out in a school teaching English, or rather, finding out how the kids‘ attention could be grasped the best. Naturally, by playing games.

    After having put every ounce of time and energy into uni for the past few months, I now, in my semester break, strive to fill my experiences with more variety, most favorably in nature and by learning not only in the university context, but also in other areas of life. I‘ve always loved traveling, starting with camping and going on bike trips along rivers with my family as a kid and after graduation continuing with hiking through and camping in the Peruvian Andes and riding the bus for days to get to know Nicaragua or, in fact, to realize how long one can sit in one place without moving just to break the supposed record with the next bus.

    With uni, time frames for travel have become shorter, but I still love to pack my bag and get to know new places and people. Last spring I traveled through Andalusia with my family and was amazed by its variety, with snow capped mountains of the Sierra Nevada only being two hours away from beaches with turquoise water and cities like Sevilla and Granada. Last summer, falling into the water with waves crashing over me was a success because it meant I rode on a wave, even if just for a few seconds. Last fall, I hiked through a scottish national park (of course soaking wet) and went on a road trip through the Isle of Skye (amazingly sunny) with good friends.

    With my time in Nicaragua in mind, I again would like to travel to a place with purpose, a place where I can contribute to my surroundings and learn from them as well. With workaway, I’d like to seize exactly that opportunity, for personal growth, for the experience of different lifestyles and approaches to tasks and to spending time and for connection to a greater cause. I really enjoy working with kids, but as of right now I am especially interested in learning more about sustainable and balanced ways of living, about farming, specifically permaculture, gardening, medicine, especially psychophysiology, plant based diets, meditation, art and handcraft, most preferably in Spain in order to improve my grammar-lacking Spanish.

    I live in Germany, where I study Psychology and assist with data collection and analysis in a clinical research project about eating disorders. In my free time, I like to dance, taking classes in contemporary jazz and ballet and as of late, doing Aerobic Taido with my roomies. I also like running and swimming and just recently I discovered bouldering and climbing, which I’d like to get into more, just like surfing. For leisure time, I like to watch movies, read books, learn Spanish and as most people, spend time with friends.

    I don’t know anything yet about permaculture and farming, but I’d love to learn and generally like learning and contributing, so I will put my energy and heart into the task at hand.

    I am excited to meet you! 😊

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have a great interest in learning new things and acquiring new skills, which comes naturally with a good and goal-oriented work ethic. I will help with whatever I can help with, whether it’s gardening, building, painting, help in the house or with English and kids. I also love art and design and if there are any connected tasks, I’d love to help.

    Also, I like getting to know people and have made an effort to gain experiences with people of all kinds, starting with siblings of children who have cancer during an internship in a hospital, continuing with elementary school children in Germany and Nicaragua and accompanying a psychologist in therapy sessions, once offering a group session of breathing exercises etc with my friend and second intern.

    My English is (hopefully) good since I had the chance of practicing it with natives in a year abroad, so if there is an interest in having me help with or teach English, I’m up for it.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      if it counts as an allergy, unfortunately gluten

    • Special dietary requirements
      glutenfree and I like eating vegetarian/vegan, mostly as an orientation, more than a must :)

Photos

Feedback