Lauriane

  • France
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Finland
    View all
  • Description

    Hello and bonjour!

    My name is Lauriane. I'm from France. I grew up in a small town near Paris. I've been living in Glasgow for 3 years now.

    I started to travel abroad when I was 18 years old, doing several language training trips around the USA to improve my English. Curious about everything I studied in very different fields (psychology, meteorology, veterinary studies…) before choosing to embrace an acting career, which took me to the New York Film Academy in Los Angeles where I spent a year and then here in Glasgow. I am passionate about the performing arts, I am also a dance lover and have been practicing every kind of traditional, modern and world dances for many years. I also love exercise, yoga, Pilates, bodybuilding, and I'm literally crazy about hiking! I can walk for hours!!!

    Even if I love my job, I always wanted to travel the world and now more than ever I feel the urge to do so. I think volunteering is a wonderful way of discovering places while connecting deeply with real people living real life. I'm interested and amazed by anything and everything really. I get excited by everything new I see or learn so when traveling I try to experience as much as I can. I love discovering new places, meeting with people, and learning as much as I can about the place I am visiting. And if I can help people while I make my dream come true what more could I ask for!?

    My forever best memory is swimming with wild dolphins in Panama City Beach, Florida. This was my sister's dream, and we did it together for a few days 3 years in a row. That’s an experience of a lifetime.

    I must say that I'm more of a nature lover than a city girl. While I'm still in Scotland I'd love to do a road trip (bus trip to be exact lol) on the northwest coast of Scotland to see and visit lighthouses. I don't know why but I'm passionate about them. I've already done a road trip in France all along the west coast to visit and take pictures of them. I must have seen 50ish now between France, USA, and UK.

    At a working level, my main assets are hospitality, tourism, and English teaching. I am currently working at the Hilton Garden Inn as a Food and Beverage Assistant and have many years of experience working in different hotels mostly in Disneyland Resort Paris and 4* lodging establishments and understand how a hotel works. Behind customer service skills, I just love taking care of people. My goal has always been to keep all guests happy and comfortable by solving any issues or answering any queries they might have during their stay. I also have years of experience teaching English as a foreign language to kids, teens and adults and I am proud to say that every one of them reached their goals! I love creating exciting and engaging lessons to motivate my students and help them to learn effectively, always in an efficient still friendly and relaxed way!!! I also love animals and regularly do cat-sitting :))

    As you might have discovered I am versatile, a hard worker who doesn't like routine! So, I'll be happy to help you with anything even if it might look like out of my area of expertise at first! I’m not afraid of going out of my comfort zone!

    My relatives say of me that I'm a free spirit, and that I'm witty, driven, and kind-hearted!

    Can't wait to embark on a new adventure with you!

    All the best,
    Lauriane

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    Movies & TV
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Hospitality, tourism
    Welcoming and providing with personalized service to all guests, assign rooms, perform all check-in and check-out tasks, manage phone reservations, provide information about the hotel, available rooms, rates and amenities, liaise with housekeeping staff to ensure all rooms are clean, tidy and fully furnished to accommodate guests needs, arrange personalized services for VIP customers and event attendees, handling payments and bills, maintain area and supplies in a guest ready atmosphere, maintain cleanliness of work areas, practicing clean-as-you-go procedures, assist with closing duties, including storing all reusable goods, breaking down goods, cleaning all equipment and areas, returning equipment to proper locations.

    English Teaching – Theatre teaching
    Creating lessons and teaching materials for a range of levels from elementary to advanced. Teaching speaking, listening, reading, and writing. Checking and assessing students work. Material & resource creation. Needs analysis and teaching in different situations. Classroom management and teaching techniques. Language analysis – vocabulary, grammar, and pronunciation.
    Teaching acting principles and techniques, using voice exercises, speech drills, explanation, lectures, and improvisation, creating lesson plans, organizing, and managing the learning environment, producing plays, and directing rehearsals for public performances, helping lightning and sets.

    Pet Sitting
    Provide daily care for pets while their owners are on vacation.
    Routine duties feeding, putting out fresh water, taking dogs on walks, brushing pets, cleaning litter boxes, companionship, active play, assure client satisfaction and always maintain safety and compliance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I love to teach cause it allows me to meet lots of different people with different backgrounds and lives. Exciting! I've been teaching English as a foreign language to kids, teens and adults for years. I'll be happy to help you whatever your needs are from total beginners to business conversation. I adapt methods and exercises on an individual basis so it'll match your need and expectations. I'll also be happy to teach you some French the best I can! :)) This language is soooo hard! I studied Spanish for years at school but forgot most of it so bought some books to fix this! :)) I'm always keen to learn a new language!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    36

  • What else ...

    I'm interested in lots of things from board games to meditation through sports! I'm eager to learn new things and discover new places and way of lives!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Competition photos

Feedback