Laura

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Vatican City State (Holy See)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/10/2020 - 28/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello,
    my name is Laura, 28 years old and I have been travelling around Western Europe over the last 2 years where I could not only explore new places and other cultures and meet new people, but also improve my skills in different areas. I cannot stop moving and want to see more of the world . I live in Edinburgh and I am in the process of finishing my undergraduate degree.

    My interests vary and I have been working in a lot of different fields already. One of them being social work where I engaged with many people from different backgrounds; children, young homeless people, elderly. Furthermore I have got a passion for baking and the dream of running my own cafe as a social enterprise one day. Therefore I have been studying Hospitality management at Edinburgh College and could also gain experience in a cafe whilst volunteering there. I have also gained my TEFL- certificate this year and could gain some teaching experience.

    I'm interested in art and culture and have got a real thing for good books and live music. I love baking and like to spend my time cooking with likeminded people. I love to stay up late and contemplate life but also enjoy yoga and meditation. Being in nature is important for me in order to reflect on things, find inspiration for writing (another passion of mine) and connect to my roots.

    In general I am a very social person and have experienced community living already and do enjoy it a lot. Therefore I would not mind to share my room with other people.
    I can help out with anything to be honest and I am not particular about the work as long as it keeps me busy. I have been working in hospitality, in the social sector and on farms already and I am always open to try out new things. In addition to that I would like to improve my language skills and others such as gardening, organising events or projects as well as teaching. I am interested in alternative living concepts and would love to be able to contribute to a small community.

    work experience:
    childcare - worked in different integrative nurseries in Germany where I had to engage with children from all ages, and backgrounds and really enjoyed it. I also have worked as an Au Pair in England and could provide references if needed.
    food preparation- worked in a fruit and vegetable store in Germany for half a year where I had to prepare juice, salads and sandwiches as well as selling those. I do have a good knowledge about fresh fruit and vegetables and I'm eager to help out with preparing vegetarian food and learn more.
    adult care- For the first year that I was living in Edinburgh I had been working as a care assistant for elderly and volunteered in a homeless charity where I had to support young, vulnerable adults in their day to day life.
    hospitality- I have got experience in working in a 3-star hotel as food-and-beverage team member where I was responsible for food preparation, the breakfast service and bar work. Currently I am working in a hostel at the reception but also have got knowledge in housekeeping which I could gain during a workaway in the Netherlands. Please ask for references if needed :)
    baking and cooking- I was volunteering in a small charity run cafe where I prepared light snacks and lunches as well as lovely cakes :) I had to engage with guests, serve them, handle cash and be a welcoming part of the cafe as it is set on a farm which supports adults and children with special needs.
    Farm work- helping out on my grandparents farm with animal care, helping out my mother who works as a zoo keeper, working on a small sheep farm in France where I had to take care of the animals as well as the garden.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I love baking and cooking, but also have got some basic gardening skills, as well as housekeeping knowledge. I'm open to any kind of work but would love to gain experience in cultural centre or museum.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    Currently I am looking for a short/long term workaway, mainly in Scotland. I love nature and being outdoors,so anything tural or remote is perfect.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Gluten

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback