Laura

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/01/2018 - 26/01/2025

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Laura, I'm 30 years old and come from the Netherlands.
    For some years I've been doing volunteerwork in my hometown; taking care of animals was my primary job there.
    About 3,5 years ago I decided to leave all and everything behind and booked a one-way ticket to Portugal. I volunteered there for 18 months in total. I did multiple workaways in different countries since then.

    I love nature, animals and people with a passion for what they believe in. I am very interested in organic farming, permaculture principles and living simply.
    Animals are my friends so I won't mind having (lots of) them around. I did a home study as animal carer and have a diploma for this now. I have practical experience with dogs, cats, birds, goats and sheep. I am not a vegetarian although I highly prefer eating my meat as local and organic as possible.

    Some other facts about me: I love driving long distances, I listen to heavy metal, cats are my absolute favorite animal on the planet, you can wake me up for a beer from Bavaria, growing mustard greens makes me very happy.

    Right now I travel between Germany and my home country the Netherlands. I will stay for a few weeks or months at a time and will be looking for hosts in those countries. Because of the current C-crisis its difficult to get to other countries, but I am open for the right host to come along and make an effort to come if it suits.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Taking care of all sorts of animals; from pets to farming animals. I have worked with sheep, goats, cats, dogs, birds.

    (Organic) Gardening; I believe I can make a decent compost pile, have some knowledge about companion planting, building up bean/tomato fences, know the difference between a weed and a baby vegetable, making raised beds etc.

    Cooking & baking; I like to bake bread, cook Indian curry dishes, soups, salads, pasta. Have cooked for small groups of people.

    General maintenance/ cleaning; I had a cleaning job at a mental health institution when I was younger.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    In my free time I like to hike, read, write, paint, explore, eat, drink coffee, beer and just relax and enjoy.
    I have a car so I am pretty mobile.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat everything

Photos

Feedback