Laura

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    I'm currently at home studying in the UK. This summer I would love to travel anywhere and everywhere just to see the world and learn about life!

    My next destination:

    Vietnam - from Jul 2023 until Sep 2023
    View all
  • Description

    I am a Biological Sciences student at Durham University, England. Here, I am on the badminton team, take part in the canoe club and am involved in various musical societies including the Ceilidh Band, Folk group and an orchestra. Growing up as a scout, I have always had a yearning for adventure. I love travelling and meeting people, sharing stories and learning about different cultures. I took part in the World Scout Jamboree in 2019 in West Virginia, where I mixed with young people from every country and became first aid trained.
    In summer 2022, I spent the summer workawaying at a campsite in British Columbia, Canada. I really enjoyed this experience and would love to continue the adventure!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I grew up in Cyprus, so was surrounded by so many different languages (Russian, Greek and Romanian). I always wanted to learn but never was able to so I'd love to learn any amount of any language and share my knowledge of English!

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    General Maintenance

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Languages
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Teaching
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    As a university student, I know all about time management. I have to study, work, and cook for myself and my household all in a day. I love everything about this, however, and find it a rewarding experience. I have excellent experience with children as a babysitter and a scout leader, taking large groups of children aged 5-16 on field trips and teaching them valuable life skills. I love working with and learning from children...they can teach us a lesson or two sometimes. I am first aid trained and have had welfare training from my university.

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    I play the flute and guitar well and would love to share musical knowledge of any kind. I adore folk music and enjoy learning about other forms of music and instruments. At university, I am also involved in a theatre company and have put on two shows in the last year. I would love to share this with anyone who would be interested and have some fun!
    I am particularly interested in sustainable living and wildlife care/management. I spent hours and hours in Cyprus wildlife watching and became concerned as year by year there were less species to be spotted.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback