Laura

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/02/2019 - 31/03/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hey everyone! I’m a young Irish-Australian living and working in rural Far North Queensland. Im currently in Crescent Head and traveling down the east coast of Australia in my camper van (Boris), and I intend to get to Tasmania before winter. I’m eager to do a few workaways on this trip because I think it will be a great way to meet wonderful new people, gain a variety of work experiences, and all while exploring NSW and Victoria.
    I’m an adventurous, sincere and enthusiastic individual with a great work ethic and love of laughter. Since graduating high school I have been working at a service station and take-away for four years; and I love being apart of the small town community and having a chat with the locals. Getting in touch with nature is important to me, whether it’s through exploring waterfalls and swimming holes in the region or tending to my beloved collection of potted plants. In my down time I love expressing creativity through making macrame or cooking yummy food. Over the past few years I’ve discovered my passion for food and I dedicate a lot of my time to watching cooking shows, learning new recipes and creating delicious healthy meals for my family.
    I believe given the chance I will become a much loved member of your team/ family and I’m ready and willing to put 100% into any task put before me.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work

  • What skills do you have?

    -My passion for food and over 5 years of working in hospitality has lead me to become an excellent cook and able to handle the stresses of working in a commercial kitchen. I love to create a variety of dishes, ranging from traditional heart warming recipes, fresh Asian meals or delightful sweet treats, but I’m also eager to expand my culinary knowledge and learn new recipes.
    -My experience in hospitality has taught me many skills such as courteous customer service and thorough cleaning, so I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty in order to clean anything.
    -I also spent 2 months cooking for large groups of around 25-30 people. I gained this experience through a workaway job on a campground, cooking lunch and dinner for the staff everyday.
    -I have a NSW RSA, although I haven’t got any bartending experience I would love to learn.
    -I’m active, outdoorsy and not scared of some manual labour. I can also assist in building projects with my basic power tool skills.
    -My green thumbs are prepared for any gardening task, whether it’s weeding, pruning, mowing or garden projects, they are ready for the job!
    -I’m also happy to teach how to make macrame jewellery and hanging baskets or make them for you.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    Although I may seem inexperienced on paper I am a sensible, diligent and independent young woman, and I understand that travel and hard work go hand-in-hand. My reason for signing up to Workaway is to experience a different way of travel and work, and to meet some awesome souls along the way. I cannot wait to see what this adventure with Boris has in store!

    Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or queries. All the best, from Laura and Boris (🚐) xx

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback