Sauli & Laura

From: Finland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/12/2018 - 28/02/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    281

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    [At the moment looking for long-term host in South Europe roughly between 12/2019 - 02/2020]

    Hello future host!

    We are Sauli (full Finn), Laura (Argentinian/Finn), Manuela (labrador retriever, 2,5 year-old nomad), and Dante (6 month-old golden/lab mix) who have stepped aside from being tied to a desk (except for the dogs, who haven't been tied to a desk ;-)

    A couple of years ago we packed our basic stuff to an old small camper van and have been volunteering to learn about hospitality, farming, animal care, permaculture, energy and water, self-sufficiency, about cultures, people, and life in general terms.

    We are very easy going and social, non drinkers, and big fans of nature. We didn't have a TV at home, and we prefer books instead.
    Sauli is an engineer in safety and environment/life and hiphop enthusiast, Laura is biochemist/artisan in crafts and philosophies, Dante and Manuela are extremely friendly, professional food beggars and treat receivers. We all are experience hunters and willing to learn everything.

    We are flexible in our dates. But once we agree on dates with someone, we will fix our own dates accordingly. We're grown-up and understand our commitment. We write only to hosts that we're seriously interested in. So, in return it would be great for the hosts to have the courtesy of answering at least a simple 'No, thank you'.

    We're leaving from Finland in the beginning of December 2019, and are heading to Spain/Portugal. We hope to arrive to the Iberian peninsula the second half of the month. As Sauli will be working online, we're interested in housesitting, for example. But we're open to discuss options.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
  • What skills do you have?

    Please see our references!
    Both: we are fast learners, versatile and can follow instructions. We speak three languages (ok, Sauli's Spanish is not great, but has been getting better). We're reliable and responsible.

    Laura: I'm creative, but practical in making a plan into reality. I can invent a lot of solutions if I have the possibility. I can cook, sew and make hand-crafts. I am biochemist and know a bit about medical practice.
    Sauli: I'm an engineer in health & safety and environmental management. I've worked the corporate world for 10 years, so I'm fluent in power point, excel and jargon :D. I'm also able to do numbers, and lots of internet stuff. I'm a pretty good driver (also on the snow). I'm really tall, so I come in handy when reaching for the top shelf! I have an international firewood chopping career!

    The first year of workaway'ing showed us that we can do lots of things, including physical labour, in a farm or guesthouse setting. Once we've been instructed we can take care of many tasks independently. Examples of tasks we've done: built a polytunnel, sheep fencing, kitchen cabinets, a 50 sqm pool, gardening, weeding, strimming, cutting grass and planting, clearing land, painted lot of things, b&b housekeeping...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent

  • Age

    40 & 42

  • Nationality

    Finnish/Argentinian

  • What else ...

    We would really like it if our dogs could stay with us (inside during the night). They're part of the family.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Bees (Laura)

    • Special dietary requirements
      Sauli doesn't eat fish.

Photos

Laura in the winter
Making food! Empanadas!
Picking strawberries :)
Sauli in the summer
Manuela concentrated on birds.

Feedback