Maria

From: Greece

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Costa Rica, Panama, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/02/2019 - 30/08/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I have experience in volunteering in environmental, artistic and touristic activities as a tour guide, music teacher, music performer, waitress, bartender, bar manager, kitchen assistant, housekeeper, receptionist and animal care taker. As long as the academic year lasts I have mostly worked as a music teacher in public schools, vocational colleges and conservatories in Greece.
    Since I have decided to plan one year trips I have also worked/volunteered in Indonesia, U.S.A., Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Peru and Ecuador so far.
    I have two bachelor degrees in Musicology and Piano Performance, a master degree in Musicology ( Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and Central Conservatory of Thessaloniki, Greece) further studies in byzantine music and classical singing (European Conservatory of Heraklion, Greece) and scholarshipped one year courses in Ethnomusicology (Institute of Performing Arts, Isi Surakarta, Indonesia).
    I speak greek and english fluently, intermediate spanish and basic Indonesian.
    I like outdoor activities like hiking and scuba diving and also I like cultural and artistic activities like playing and teaching music.
    I am a happy, responsible and easygoing person who loves to travel and work in multicultural environments. I love also living in different kind of places from time to time, changing from big cities to natural or by the sea places (usually mostly the second one though haha).
    Now I' m travelling and volunteering in Ecuador and then I am planning to continue my adventures in Colombia! So I am searching for my next working experience, since this year my plan is to travel and work all around the american continent!
    Volunteering jobs experience
    -Housekeeper (Feb.2020)
    The Cottages By The Sea Hotel, San Alejo, Ecuador
    -Receptionist (Dec.2019-Jan.2020)
    Chusay Rooftop Hostel, Cusco, Peru
    -Receptionist (Dec.2019)
    Rooftop Hostel, La Paz, Bolivia
    -Housekeeper, animal care taker, maintenance (Nov.2019-Dec.2019)
    La tregua llama farm, San Lorenzo, Bolivia
    - Maintenance, housekeeper (Nov.2019)
    Terracotta Restaurant and Incantti Ceramics, Yotala, Bolivia
    -Receptionist, housekeeper (Oct.2019)
    Cosmo Elqui Valley Hostel, Elqui Valley, Chile
    Cosmo Elqui Hostel, Serena, Chile
    -Animal care taker, housekeeper (Aug.2019-Oct.2019)
    Aurora Austral husky farm, Villarica, Chile
    -Office Assistant (Mar.2019-Jul.2019)
    Salpa clothes company, Buenos Aires, Argentina
    -Housekeeper (Nov. 2018–Mar. 2019)
    El Diablo Tranquilo Hostel, Punta Del Diablo, Uruguay
    -Receptionist (Sep.2018 – Nov.2018)
    ITH Zoo Hostel, San Diego CA, USA
    -Bar Manager (Jun.2018 – Aug.2018)
    Tre60 Bar, One Tree Hill Hostel, Labuanbajo, Indonesia
    -Music teacher (Sep.2015-Sep.2016)
    "Bank of time" organization, Heraklion ,Greece
    -Bartender, Waitress, Kitchen Assistant (Jul.2014 – Sep.2014)
    Relax Café/Restaurant, Ditikos, Greece
    -Tour Guide and Volunteers manager (May 2013-Jul.2013)
    Viotopi Natural Park, Rethimnon, Greece
    -Tour Guide (May 2011 – Jun.2011)
    15th Biennale of Young European and Mediterranean Artists
    “Symbiosis”, Thessaloniki/Rome, Greece/Italy
    - Hosting of animals (Nov.2009-Jun.2011)
    Thessaloniki's CatGroup, Greece

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Advanced Adventurer diving licence, Massage therapy licence, Hiking experience, ECDL and Music Software Computer skills, Playing the piano and teaching music, Hospitality jobs experience

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    Greek

  • What else ...

    I also loooooove cooking. Food is one of my passions and one of the reasons I like travelling. I mostly work with vegetables and spices but I m always into learning (and eating) something new.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Well i have to say it. I'm not drinking coffee...

Photos

Feedback